A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW-15

by 702Shooter on · 559 comments

THIS IS AN INACTIVE GIVEAWAY!

In the 1980′s a company entered the firearms market with their offer of what many people called a “plastic” pistol.  The polymer product met with a lot of resistance and criticism.  I remember people saying things like “It’s a plastic P.O.S. that will break”, “They will be outlawed because they can pass through airport security”, and other things of this nature.   To be completely honest, I bought into a bunch of that crap and even fueled the fires a bit myself.  Over time, the product has proven itself as not only a valid option, but one that is currently used by approximately 65% of all U.S. Law Enforcement agencies as their handgun of choice.  It’s also the weapon that I now carry daily.  Unless you’ve been hiding under a rock for the last 25+ years, you know I’m talking about Glock.

IMG 0119 300x168 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15When I was first introduced to New Frontier Armory’s LW-15 polymer AR-15 lower, I was skeptical.  I had also read a few things on forums like M4Carbine.net where the various “plastic” lowers have continuously been trash talked.  Not wanting to jump on the negative band wagon as I had previously done with Glock, I decided to keep an open mind about the product and look into it a bit further.  As I searched around the interwebs, I noticed that while the AR type forums didn’t seem to favor the product, the more general gun forums, like Calguns.net, had members chiming in that they owned and like the polymer lowers.

IMG 1643 200x112 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15To make a long story just a little shorter, I purchased an LW-15  lower and decided to test it out a bit.  For a couple of months I had been hearing & reading of problems with some of the internal parts breaking.  What better way to test this than with rapid fire?  So, I started by adding a SlideFire Solutions SSAR-15 bumpfire stock to the lower and, with the help of a few friends, have proceeded to put roughly 1,700 rounds down range utilizing simulated “full auto” firing.  Just yesterday, we dumped over 250 rounds through it without a hiccup and this morning, I pulled it apart to look for damage.  I cleaned up all the parts, inspected them, and the only marks I could find were on the head of the hammer where it strikes the firing pin.  Although it was marked from this, it was far from damaged or showing any significant signs of wear or weakness.

Now, I’m not here to try to sell the die hard AR/M4 fans out their on something they don’t want.  However, with the recent explosion of civilian AR sales, there are a TON of people entering the market that are seeking a light weight and/or inexpensive  entry level type rifle.  These are typically not the commando “A” type personalities, but more average guys like most of my readers.  They are not looking for a gun to run through dirt and mud or something they can abuse the hell out of.  They want an entry level ar-15 that they will shoot once a month, stick in the closet or safe, and shoot it again in another month or two.  Others want something they can toss behind the seat of their truck and not have to worry about scratching up an aluminum receiver or a light weight rifle for their wife or kids to use.  The LW-15 is a great option for those kind of people.

IMG 1650 300x168 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15The stripped lower itself weighs in at about 5 ounces while the Tactical Innovations T15 lower I compared it to weighs 8.4oz.  The two lowers are roughly the same cost except that the LW-15 comes complete with a lower parts kit, buffer tube, buffer, buffer spring, & stock all for $109.  Assembly is done in house at New Frontier Armory’s retail store in North Las Vegas, NV.  The LW-15 has a lifetime warranty so  if you do experiences any problems, NFA will quickly remedy the situation.  Some owners of the first generation LW-15′s experienced problems with the internals.  Once the issue became apparent, design changes were made and parts were swapped out for those who requested them.

IMG 1652 200x112 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15 IMG 0127 200x112 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15 IMG 0136 200x112 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15

IMG 0116 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15The guys over at New Frontier Armory took one of their LW-15 rifles out and shot some video of them abusing it.  Running it over, chucking it across the desert, using it as a foot step, etc…  Again, all things that most of us will never put a rifle through in the first place.  To this day, they still use the same rifle for demos.  It’s the dirty rifle in the photos and also the gun that Matt Supnick is using on the range portion of the video below.

IMG 0139 200x112 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15 IMG 0141 200x112 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15 IMG 0151 200x112 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15

Will it withstand anything you throw at it?  In most cases, I believe it will.  This is a pretty tough lower.  In fact, here’s an email from another LW-15 owner and a photo of his rifle that was recently ran over by a tractor.

AR Modification by Bush Hog

This is the result of running over one of my AR-15s with my 50hp tractor and a 6 ft Bush Hog. How it occurred is a long sad story, but of no importance to you.

BushHogMod 300x139 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15The lower is one of you polymer lowers. What happened here speaks volumes about the ability of the polymer lower to take punishment and keep on functioning.

The polymer stock was ripped out of the threads of the lower. The keeper key was bent and the buffer with spring went flying. The bolt carrier was sticking about 1/3 of its length out of the back of the upper. You will note that the rear takedown pin appears to be missing, not so. The upper sheared the rear pin off at both ends and the polymer pin’s center was still in the upper. The half full magazine was ripped out of the lower. After cleaning, the magazine went right back into the lower and locked up, with the release functioning as prior to modification. The trigger, sear and hammer functioned perfectly after the sand was removed and the lower was flushed.

After cleaning with mineral spirits and flushing then hammering the key flat, the stock treaded right back onto the lower, locked up, and was ready to go with the replacement of the rear pin, plunger and spring, plus the buffer plunger and its spring.

The aluminum upper receiver did not fare so well, it was cracked where the barrel extension attached to the upper receiver. Oh, I had to cut the barrel, forearm and gas tube off 6 inches in front of the receiver with a saws-all to get the upper apart. The barrel was bent in 3 directions and the gas tube, still attached to the gas block, was wrapped around the barrel.

If someone wants to know how tough your lower is and if your lower will take punishment, show them this picture.

Name Withheld

Although I do not consider myself any sort of expert in the field, I have been building my own ARs for 20 years.  I’m a fan of hand picking every component that goes into my builds and pride myself on their uniqueness as much as the quality of the parts that go into them.  This is what caused me to be skeptical about the LW-15.  However, I’m also open minded enough to realize that there is a HUGE market for these kind of guns.  Would I carry this gun into a battlefield type scenario?  No, but that’s not what it’s intended for either.  I will definitely be keeping this gun, using it, and sharing it with those who I believe would benefit from such a weapon.

Wondering if the LW-15 is right for you?  No problem, I’ve got you covered.  New Frontier Armory is so confident in their product that they have allocated 3 complete LW-15 polymer lower receivers for me to give away.  A comment from below will be pulled once a month, for 3 consecutive months, starting on October 27th, 2012.  Post your VALID entry comments below for your chance to win.  As usual, I HIGHLY recommend that you read and follow the Giveaway Rules.

dp seal trans 16x16 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15Copyright secured by Digiprove © 2012-2014 702Multimedia.com Admin
 A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15 702Shooter (162 Posts)

A devilishly handsome individual, 702Shooter is a sucker for adorable puppies, long walks on the beach, and cuddling after romantic interludes. In his spare time he runs this website and raises penguins in his back yard.

Website A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15Facebook A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15Twitter A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15YouTube A Review of the New Frontier Armory LW 15

Additional posts you may be interested in:

{ 3 trackbacks }

Composite AR-15 lowers
October 2, 2012 at 9:42 am
October Gun Giveaways: Let's Get Another One | The Truth About Guns
October 13, 2012 at 3:25 am
The November Gun Contest List is Up! | The Truth About Guns
November 10, 2012 at 9:05 am

{ 556 comments… read them below or add one }

hoosierb-ball November 23, 2012 at 6:01 pm

Nice video… This lower would be a great start to my upcoming AR-15 build! I think a polymer lower is an interesting concept for an AR.

jpatton71 November 23, 2012 at 10:24 pm

I shoot a Doublestar AR and have loaned my lower to my youngest son because he traded for a custom put together upper by someone that knows what they are doing. I was trying to help him find a lower for his gun and had actually discouraged him from getting one of the New Frontier polymer lowers. After reading the article on this site and watching some video on the manufacturer’s site. I have definitely had to “eat crow” as the old saying goes. I now plan to encourage him to buy one of the complete lowers and may even get one for my son-in-law for a build of his own. He is in the military, but I think will be very impressed after showing him what I have seen coupled with the New Frontier guarantee. Thanks for the great website that puts out reviews that are actually useful. As for my “crow,” I guess I will have to request it cooked “extra crispy”. I will learn to do more research before making suggestions I’m the future.
-J. Patton

signalsarge1 November 24, 2012 at 10:05 am

I have been in the market for the first ar15 for my son. I wanted to build the upper with him and after reading the review here, this looks like the perfect lower to fit his rifle!

meanoldman2 November 24, 2012 at 12:33 pm

I would like to use polymer lower in my first ar build. I would show that the strength and durability to stop misconception of the polymer lowers! If won I would build the ar by an average guy, notice shooter and shoot you tube video.Thanks for this opportunity

Mtdewd November 24, 2012 at 11:50 pm

I’m digging your site and your content. I’ve been thinking about getting one of these for my AR build because I like what I’ve found in different reviews, which is what brought to your site in the first place. Thanks for not just sounding like you’re being paid to sell the products you’re reviewing. I appreciate the straightforwardness and the depth. And the tractor story.

Lovegrove1 November 26, 2012 at 7:35 pm

I really think the Polymer type products are going in the right direction. Having a Polymer lower can definitely help out in both fighting combat fatigue and the ability to carry more ammo, food and water. For every ounce you shave off a system, it allows you to place that in another aspect of the mission. Not only those points, but also the durability. As the pics and video show, you can actually use this the way it’s meant to be used. You no longer need to “Baby” it, so to say. So in the end, this to me is really ground breaking, just like when they started using polymers in handguns..

djmedek November 27, 2012 at 7:44 am

I’ve seen what it can do, I’ve seen the durability of them. I pray after what I’ve been thru lets see if I’m on santa’s list this year…
Happy holidays…. Everyone.

AnEvilCanofWD40 November 27, 2012 at 8:14 am

Is it possible to make the entire lower COMPLETELY out of the polymer material? I know durability issues would arise, but short-term is it a possibility? I merely ask the question because I’ve been watching Homeland a lot so it’s got me thinking in terrorist terms…

hunter75 November 27, 2012 at 10:13 am

I’m not sure what to say other than… I want one !!!

Total goodness all warped up in one !!! After checking out Frontiers website… all I can say is wow they really tricked out this product… enough said. Maybe a stocking stuffer this year from Santa . = )

New Frontier Armory Model LW-15 Light weight polymer AR-15 Lower

Complete* Lower – ready to pin onto upper and fire!!!
Lightweight – weighs in at 1.6 lbs – That’s 7.2oz lighter than a standard lower
Lightest most durable composite polymer lower on the market today
Low maintenance / easy cleaning / scratch resistant
Accepts all standard MIL SPEC uppers
Features the accu-group composite fire control system
Can accommodate any brand MIL SPEC LPK upgrade
Reversible safety to accommodate left or right hand shooters
Also available in multiple configurations

one5oh2nv November 27, 2012 at 10:47 am

Another great review! I’ve been cheesing out the nfa lowers since they released them and have been really thinking of picking one up to build a rifle for the wife. It’s about time she had he own!

one5oh2nv November 27, 2012 at 10:47 am

Another great review! I’ve been checking out the nfa lowers since they released them and have been really thinking of picking one up to build a rifle for the wife. It’s about time she had he own!

cerich November 27, 2012 at 4:29 pm

great review thank you. informative and well written

rbuzar2012 November 27, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Whoohoo!!! just won the Monthly giveaway for the LW15! Thanks so much 702shooter.com and New Frontier Armory! Can’t wait to get this lower, pair it up with an upper and experience this product for myself!! Very Excited!!!!

X702 November 27, 2012 at 7:17 pm

Congrats man. :)

Let us know how you like it.

teddg3 November 27, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Still one more to give away, right? I’m going stir crazy over this, lol! Congrats rbuzar….you’re gonna LOVE that lower. Half the fun is proving everyone wrong at the range about polymer! Once they see it in action, they can’t deny…

X702 November 28, 2012 at 2:22 am

Yep. Next drawing is December 27th!

hunter75 November 28, 2012 at 10:13 am

Awsome !

rbuzar2012 November 28, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Yeah, i can’t wait. I’ve already got a box of ammo and a day set aside for some range time :-p definitely some skeptics at my work place i can’t wait to prove wrong

jrwoody90 November 28, 2012 at 9:34 am

I enjoyed your description of the caustic plastic guns. Ironically a Glock was the first handgun I ever fired. And just recently bought one as my first gun! I really like the design, weight, and functionality. Along with it I have been considering getting a rifle. I have debated between bolt actions and semi-autos, and haven’t fully come to a compromise. I have seriously considered building my own ar15. I find the information that you have provided on this product to be quite useful for a beginner.

X702 November 28, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Thanks for the feedback. :)

Here’s a link you may want to read over if you decide to buy or build an AR-15.
http://www.702shooter.com/community-awareness/ar15-primer-beginners-guide-purchasing-building/

shawnm November 28, 2012 at 4:19 pm

What with the UN and Congress both talking about gun control, it’s paramount that financially accessible options such as this lower become more widely available. That being said, being a broke college student, I’d love a free one! Good review!

spitnlead308 November 28, 2012 at 6:07 pm

=Hello NFA my name is Jeremy, i have built a few AR-15′s,556,300blackout,AR-10 308,and have always shied away from polymer lowers.They just seemed too cheap.I am now building an AR for my future wife.She is always trying shoot my guns and now its time for her to have an AR.I would be so lucky to have a chance to review your lower in person on her build if you would give me a chance.I will spair no expense in the testing of this lower and will document it well and post blogs about it because my buddies and I will be picking a couple up if it performs well as a weapon system lower.So please NFA from the bottom of my heart,please let me sample ur LW-15 lower. Thank You for the oppertuity JEREMY

nathanrw1981 November 28, 2012 at 6:33 pm

That looks like a great low weight high-performance lower. Paired with a light weight chromed barrel and bump fire and and it could get real expensive to feed!

dabraham35 November 28, 2012 at 7:34 pm

I have the LW 15 along with NFA AR pistol lower. I have to say they are quality made and I really enjoy them both. I may be looking to purchase another one shortly.
Dan

nmateo November 28, 2012 at 10:42 pm

I picked up one of these lowers six months ago and works great. Want me another one to build a rifle from scratch…

ed November 29, 2012 at 7:02 am

protecting my family is a high priority for me and this will suit my needs i never had a build befor so this could be a first im ready and have lots of time thanks for the awesome vid and pics.

ChrisJ82 November 29, 2012 at 9:07 am

I was bummed that I didn’t win last month, but all the same, congrats rbuzar2012! And well there’s always next month.

Born702 November 29, 2012 at 9:33 am

Looks like a great piece, thanks for the chance!

Mr. Bubbles November 29, 2012 at 9:42 am

My first firearm was a Glock. I absolutely love it. The polymer is strong and lightweight. I have been looking to purchase an AR style firearm. I am certainly intrigued by a polymer lower for an AR. It seems like a good way to keep the weight down!

puffrbelly November 30, 2012 at 4:50 pm

I just ordered one of the NFA POLY Lowers for a CMMG .22LR conversion kit. This will be my “Dedicated” AR15/.22LR. I will be attaching the lower to a Surplus Ammo & Arms 16″ 1:9 M4 AR-15 Upper Receiver. I’m thinking about adding a “Slide Fire” stock as well! Thanks for a GREAT review!

Wysiwyg101 November 30, 2012 at 8:28 pm

I’ve been seriously looking into getting a lower receiver just in case Pres Obama does try to do what he said he would do. Unfortunately, everyone else has had the same idea. So, I’ve looked high and low and found a few things here and there, but the prices just haven’t been all that great. The NFA polymer lower looks like a very nice lower. Perhaps I’ll start with that. Take care and stay safe and shoot straight.

generalxavier27 November 30, 2012 at 9:42 pm

Great review. I’ve been looking to build my first AR and had been considering a polymer one. You’ve helped me make up my mind. I placed my order for one before noticing you are giving one away. Well, hopefully I will get to build two. I’ve been slowly reading some of your other articles and I really like what I’ve seen. Keep up the good work.

john ohara December 1, 2012 at 5:19 am

As many people that are making ar-15 ‘s now(we have 4 that I know of in Orlando),They HAVE to have all the bugs ironed out by now. I am like so many of the customers out there; I just cannot afford a $900 to $1200 version .With every guy in America owning(or wanting)an AR ,whoever makes an affordable one is going to sell a LOT of AR’s! Make mine a Lefty(wishful thinking)

jtrojan December 2, 2012 at 12:23 pm

been looking at thies for a while now to do a build for my son

AnEvilCanofWD40 December 2, 2012 at 2:30 pm

My first handgun was a glock an it amazed me how much of the weight was all in the barrel and upper assembly. It’s the same thing here. I thinks it’s pretty bad@$$ a local company decides to do this, starts cranking them out, and has glowing reviews since. Props to New Frontier Armory, keep up the great work.

Now off to another section of 702shooter to ask questions about my own AR-15. Thanks guys!!

jmilford190 December 2, 2012 at 2:51 pm

It is an interesting concept that would definitely be worth looking into. My Taurus 24/7 has polymer parts and I have little or no trouble with it.

CraigTS454 December 4, 2012 at 11:42 am

Great concept. For such a small weapons system the AR is not light. I’d love to get my hands on one! It’s amazingly priced too! Plastics!

MCTrejo5 December 4, 2012 at 1:24 pm

These things are not a new concept but all the haters out there will say they are NOT as good as metal!!!
Well look at the videos and the reviews!! all you haters!!!
These are here to stay and watch the price go up a little do to the demand!!!
Would like to build one with a .50 upper and see how many rounds i could put through it and video document the progress.
Extreme Torture test
These things are AWESOME!!!
Good job New Frontier!!

DOCGoza December 4, 2012 at 5:04 pm

I am new to the AR-15 world . I would like to put together a light gun in 300 blackout or 7.62X39 for my son to deer and or hog hunt with. I would like to try the NFA lower for this I think it would be the best gun for a young hunter.

imcpheeters December 4, 2012 at 6:11 pm

Welcome to the future. It is about time someone made a lower from polymer. I am surprised we do not have a 100% polymer gun yet! Oh well…it would look sweet in my gun safe!

mattracked December 4, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Regardless of winning this lower, I plan on sharing this with my buddies and purchasing one In the future. This was a thorough review of a product that most have undeserved skepticism’s for. I would love to build an AR with this lower and winning this prize would get this eagle scout started on a college budget.

DOCGoza December 5, 2012 at 5:22 pm

After 3 deployments and being mobilized to train soldiers I love to shoot the M16/AR-15 rifle. I really thank with a strong polymer lower will make a good light gun for close range hunting. This is a good lower and even if I don’t win I will be buying one soon to put together a gun for my sons to hunt with. does anyone know of dealers in Kansas that carry these lowers?

meathookst11 December 6, 2012 at 12:12 pm

I love the idea of a polymer lower. I often wondered if I would see one as tough as this one seems to be. Looking forward to firing one some day. I hope I win :)

evoalf December 8, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Very nice review. Thinking about getting one LR15 lower. I think it will work well with my Delton upper. For my first AR15 build.

Keep up the good work!

tap007 December 8, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Very impressive platform. I hope to own one of these lowers pretty soon!

SILVERBACK December 9, 2012 at 5:00 pm

EXCELLANT !! PERFECT PIECE, for daughters first ar, will pair up with dpms 16” a3 upper, I will probably have to duracoat pink & black camo.

Z1218 December 9, 2012 at 8:12 pm

I have always wanted an AR but never had the cash. So this would be a great start. Now for the Polymer. Isn’t the Glock a polymer body? And if Im correct those have been around for a while without a ton of issues. I have to believe that this is going to be a lightweight rugged body to build on.

rich1967 December 10, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Big Glock fan here! Have nothing against polymer when it’s done right! Would love to try a polymer lower for my next build. I’ve built 7 so far and have two 80% lowers in the works for next two builds! Maybe a polymer for an SBR build to keep it light! BTW – great site!

Blackchurch December 10, 2012 at 10:56 pm

I’ve been really interested in one of these, they sound like a very practical solution for plinking and a truck rifle. I’m also thinking it would be a great entry option when my kids are old enough to learn to shoot. The price sounds excellent, for sure. I wonder how well it would work as a 9mm rifle?

JJBaker December 11, 2012 at 9:08 am

Wife and I new to Vegas and the club! We would love to build a gun together!

thenextwinner4 December 11, 2012 at 7:32 pm

I’m hoping to win this poly lower to prove to my brother-in-law(who btw thinks Glocks are the best guns on Earth)that a poly lower for the AR platform isnt the laughing stock(lock & barrel)that he thinks it is. Not to mention it WOULD be an awesome Christmas present to me as well I dreamed I won the one last month….hope I do better this month

Frank December 12, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Fantastic give a way needless to say I would enjoy being th winner on this one.

Mynakedsoda December 13, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Personally I’ve been planning a purchase of one of their lowers for some time. I’ve just been deciding which upper to pair with it. I’d love a review of one of their complete rifles in the future. The upper with the magpul forearm and folding front sight would actually fit my needs. I simply haven’t found even one review of the complete rifle.

Alsatian December 14, 2012 at 4:39 pm

I wonder how long a polymer lower would stand up to a 50 cal. upper? It would be great if the polymers drove down the prices for lowers in general – more black rifles for everyone! If I win I think a 20in 5.45 build would be interesting.

DCGladden December 14, 2012 at 6:45 pm

I do not currently own a carbine, as I am a bench rest shooter, due to my M.S.. I own a Stag 6 Super V, and enjoy it greatly. I would be extremely interested in building a competitive long-barreled AR with the polymer lower. I have never “built” an AR, so this would be a wonderful start to my first “custom” competition shooter. Though most people use theirs for three-gun competitions, steel plinkers, and varmit hunting, I prefer to punch paper with mine to “show up” the higher-powered shooters at my range. They can’t believe I can use a stock rifle with off-the-shelf reloads and put 5-shots in a dime at 100 yards. Oh, and use a (ultra) cheap scope on top of it, insults them to my enjoyment… I’m limited on a budget because of my disability, and starting with a free lower to begin with would make my life so much easier. I figure if you have faith in polymer, I may as well give it a shot!! Happy Holidays!!!

Miketheplinker December 14, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Saw the video on these and I must say they took alot of damage and held up very well. I will be looking into these for a new build. you really can’t go wrong for the price

chef175 December 14, 2012 at 9:59 pm

I have been shooting for a lot of years. I have semi autos and AR’s all metal to a few years a go when I got my first Glock I loved it, but to use a polymer lower on my AR? I don’t think so, that is the way I was a few years a go. Now after reading your story about LW 15 I think I mite just be ready to try this new lower I like to build AR’s and this would give me the chance to build a new one with this polymer lower.
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

JSC76 December 15, 2012 at 12:31 am

I keep coming back to this review, and keep wondering if I should get one of these or go old school. I’m still on the fence.

GOLDENHAWKBALL December 15, 2012 at 7:27 am

I’ve been wondering, with the addition of the slide-fire stock for the full auto simulation, how much more punishment is it for the trigger group as opposed to the standard carbine set-up? do the lowers last any longer as far as round count is concerned, or is it pretty much even when compared to overall durability between the two. great looking lower, btw. would be fun to have with all this talk of gun bans and all that nonsense

mbogo December 15, 2012 at 1:56 pm

I added one of these to a spare upper and it has performed flawlessly. I still have a spare upper or two (hint,hint,wink,wink).

teddg3 December 15, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Man I almost forgot that you were giving another one of these away!!!!!!! Took my pistol out for a little spin at the range today and thought how nice it would be to have another AR to take with me on these little outings…..thanks for all the positive info and spreading the good word on the poly-lowers. I believe the future in AR platforms is here!

BRBruce December 16, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Never really been thrilled by the concept of a polymer AR. Many people weren’t thrilled about the idea of “plastic” pistols either, but they’re still around and going strong. I might be worth a try.

Timtiminy December 17, 2012 at 8:04 am

After reading this article I definitely would love to build an AR off the LW-15. I just bought my first gun recently (a shotgun) and definitely have the itch to start owning more firearms. I’ve always loved shooting when my dad would take me to the range as a kid but the cost of it has kept me from doing it more. I think the LW-15 is exactly the type of setup I could see myself owning. It definitely has the potential to be a great rifle when it comes to keeping costs down and the fun factor high. Thanks for the chance to win!

juchavez December 17, 2012 at 9:22 am

Polymer is some strong stuff. I’ve seen Glocks and polymer clips for AR’s and all the stuff is really strong. I think this will be the future of the AR once more people have them and find out how strong they are. The Polymer lowers also make the guns cheaper so more people like me can own one. I could never afford a decent AR. Now with the price of these lowers (109$ for a complete lower), I’ve started looking. These lowers make these types of guns affordable and give you the options of multiple calipers, and I think these lowers will help more people buy AR’s because of the price. The more people that buy AR’s makes them harder to ban. I’ve mentioned the final price to people and they can’t believe it’s for a complete lower. Complete AR for about 500$! Great job on these lowers NFA.

Sinister December 17, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Awesome product, great bunch of people.

Captain Willie December 18, 2012 at 7:29 am

This is t2 he second great review I have read about this lower. I would be proud to own one and to build an AR on this platform. What I would build first is a 22 caliber, and then have another upper ready to switch out. I have been saving up to get one but other things have always came up and cleaned out my special fund. I would more than likely stroke out if I won this great product. Once again, thanks 702 for all your hard work with the various products so that we who belong to this forum do not have to make mistakes, you have done all the hard work for us. Thank you for this opportunity.

setite December 18, 2012 at 8:27 am

The LW15 looks impressive and the torture tests sure go along way towards proving it’s worth. I’m seriously considering it for my first AR.

tmanley17 December 18, 2012 at 8:45 am

Getting ready to order my first one today. A few guys at my firehouse are starting AR projects together. .223 for me and then I think a .22lr for my daughter. Can’t wait to get it finished.

TheNightmareMan December 18, 2012 at 3:48 pm

The New Frontier Gen II stock is intriguing. I have over 4 years of experience working with a variety of polymers. Everything from Extrusion welding to injection molding. I am curious what material(s) these lowers are made of. Durability tests seem impressive. Anyone should be proud to own one, much less lucky enough to win one for free. I wonder what type of blend it is? I know certain polymers like polyethylene have a certain amount of elasticity, or could it be a type of Lexan? I wonder. Perhaps if I win one I will have the opportunity for closer inspection. Thank you for letting me post some of my own questions and comments.

Does anyone in fact know what the properties of these lowers are by chance? If so, please, do tell. I must know. Thanks.

lucy December 18, 2012 at 5:39 pm

One of the things that I have been looking for is a quality firearm for the home.

I’m not a hunter, mostly because land development has closed down all the hunting opportunities in Florida. What I am is a collector of unique hardware and functionally useful equipment. Until just a couple days ago I had never heard of New Frontier. After reading reviews and comments I think I’m ready to make the leap. I think I’ll wait until the last lower has been given out then go from there. Regardless of whether I have to buy one or am one of the lucky 3, I’ll do a write-up and let you guys know how it works out for me.

Tnwoodsman December 18, 2012 at 7:11 pm

I came to the website to review the LW-15. I debated purchasing a couple of these but I was not very familiar with this name. This seems like a solid product. I know I love my other brand of polymer firepower made in Austria. I think I am going to give this lower a try after reading all that I have read from multiple sites. The giveaway is just icing on the cake if I happened to be picked!

jc43 December 18, 2012 at 9:34 pm

I’ve been looking at these for a while and am wanting to start my first build. I’m exactly the type you’ve described in your article. I want to make sure I have an AR before they might not be available (hopefully never). Thanks for this very informative site.

CrimsonPride December 19, 2012 at 7:34 am

Haven’t done many modifications, but this looks like it would be a great one. The thought put into design and the quality seems it would make a good gun even better. Enjoyed the video, very straight-forward and informative.

tasty_chicken December 19, 2012 at 9:47 am

So I just read this review and I think I’m in for one. Unfortunately, when I visited the site, the LW-15′s are backordered to 4-8 weeks yet.

X702 December 19, 2012 at 3:43 pm

That’s exactly why you should have subscribed long before now. ;)

In case you are not aware, there has been a lot of attention on firearms over the last week or so. AR-15 lowers, complete rifles, and ammo just became very scarce. I expect it to stay that way for awhile.

sirtom68 December 19, 2012 at 4:10 pm

I have read reviews for a year or so about the polymer lowers, the plum crazy and new frontier models. From what I have taken from them (reviews) New Frontier has my vote me thinks. I have committed to an AR build, upper is ordered, but am still torn about spending the $ on a forged lower, or a budget build. Money is tight and time is a ticking. I think I can hold out for a few more days, ya just never never know until ya try.

mmilliken December 19, 2012 at 7:31 pm

Great review! I too am a bit skeptical still to be honest, but not as much as I was. Polymer doesn’t bother me one bit either. I “accidentally” stumbled on these lowers and I am intrigued and wanting to try..

threepdr December 20, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Just found your excellent video. It has reinforced my decision to go with the LW-15 for a 300 BLK build. Thanks!

Mark in Alabama

jt34 December 21, 2012 at 10:43 am

As a military member, I’ve shot the M4/M16 many times, but I never pursued getting one due to the excessive cost. Prior to recent events, I felt that there would be ample time to get one in the future & I’d just shoot the military version at the range. The thought that in 2013 there may be a flood of state and federal bills/laws that restrict or outlaw certain firearms, magazines, accessories has really alarmed me. The past few days I have been scambling to find the most cost effective way to get an AR, and building one, seemed to be the best & funnest option out there [I was surpised to find out, the lower reciever was the item that required registration/FFL ~ that is how clueless I was; or still am].
To date, I don’t have all the tools needed to put a stripped lower together, and the New Frontier Armory LW-15, eliminates the short term need to acquire them now.
Absent of the timeI have several guns/pistols ~ mostly all for hunting personal protection. After the news bananza I have been intently searching on how to get into an AR system. I never really knew, but they are truely expensive.

Here is something most people do not know and we hope you in your capacity will make much more public. First, many legislatures will write bills/laws that have a grandfather clause in them so as to make the law more palatable to the opposition and citizens.

jt34 December 21, 2012 at 10:51 am

Wow, ok, i hit submit a little early on accident and didnt finish my thoughts or edit, but the general message/idea is there….

lisa lemke December 21, 2012 at 1:23 pm

sounds like a little fun

sirtom68 December 21, 2012 at 10:58 pm

I wrote in my last post ” I can hold out for a few more days” New Frontier Raised the price of the LW 15 complete lowers $60 bucks sometime today. Thats what I get for being optimistic I reckon. Looks like it will be just as cost efficient to go with a forging now. Oh well, live and learn. Cheers.

kirkh2o December 21, 2012 at 11:30 pm

I’ve been intristed in a polymer lower but haven’t built a rifle on one yet. This might be perfect for my dedicated 22 upper

mannyloke December 22, 2012 at 2:50 am

man i hope you guys still have lowers left tomorrow!

X702 December 23, 2012 at 11:07 am

They have been sold out for a week. These lowers are now back ordered for at least 2 months.

mannyloke December 22, 2012 at 2:50 am

are you open the 23rd cross my fingers

OBEYbrad December 22, 2012 at 1:06 pm

This lower caught my eye walking in the NFA I consistently do business with them and always wanted to start a build with this beautiful lower! Hopefully luck is on my side and can help me win this contest! Special thanks goes out to Mark at NFA he’s a real cool dude and very helpful with anything you need! Thanks 702Shooter!

davisrm1 December 22, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Looking forward to getting this high quality lower to start building my first ar! Love having my money go to hard working American companies that make their products on our soil! Great review, can’t wait to try out the lw-15 myself!

gagt98 December 23, 2012 at 12:04 pm

I bought two….. I wish I had bought three!

Thewildchild December 24, 2012 at 7:50 pm

Looks ideal for the first build I want to try. Scares me that the libitards could turn around and outlaw or even require confiscation, though.

abizmalknight December 25, 2012 at 12:48 am

This would make a great start on nice rifle. New frontier has acquired a reputation of building strong quality arms. It would be an honor to receive one of these fine lowers before a ban is enacted. A few psycho’s is all it takes to tare away our rights as honest law abiding citizens. I hope I can win this so I can enjoy the pleasure of owning a AR myself.

ramairthree December 25, 2012 at 7:33 am

This is a great lower. I picked one up a few months ago. I have three kids and for the two younger girls wanted to do a lightweight build for each of them. The price on this complete lower is great. Sure, I had reservations about polymer, but with the lifetime warranty it was a no brainer to give it a try. The NFA complete lower saves you half a pound. The trigger is not a high dollar match trigger, but fully functional and works great. I have had worse triggers on standard lower parts kits, this one is fine. I built an upper with a lighter profile 14.5 barrel, and did a pin and weld flash hider to get to 16.1 inches. I used a light FF rail, and came up with a very light and agile handling carbine. I contacted NFA by email and got a rapid, customer friendly response. I had asked if there were any issues with painting them and they said no problem. Some flat OD and tan later, and it looks as good as it handles. Santa just dropped it off for her and she is all smiles. Ran like a Swiss watch when I tested it and sighted it in before it got wrapped up.. I bought my first AR in the 80s when I was a teenager, and am sure this will hold up just as well as that Colt has. I would be more than happy to win another! If not when things get back to normal I will buy one to do a build for my other daughter.

armed556 December 26, 2012 at 10:54 am

Love to build on one of these!

cburch December 26, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Great article. Great website.

OBEYbrad December 26, 2012 at 10:10 pm

I can’t wait to start my lightweight SBR build! I’m too excited for words!

Magsz December 27, 2012 at 10:25 am

Are the barrels on those simply coated black or are they finished with anything, ie melonite, nitride, etc etc. I know he mentioned SS but he didnt mention any type of coating.

X702 December 27, 2012 at 10:30 am

This is a review on the lower, not the barrel so I don’t have that information. However, my guess it that it’s a standard finish since the price point is so low. Probably best to ask New Frontier Armory.

JimBianchi December 27, 2012 at 11:08 am

I tried to find a video using this lower as a pistol with no luck. If I win, I will do video review and test as an AR pistol.

X702 December 27, 2012 at 11:20 am

Hi Jim,

NFA offers a pistol version but these lowers are already built for rifles so you can not legally make a pistol out of them. You can only do that with stripped lowers that have never been built into a rifle lower.

AnEvilCanofWD40 December 27, 2012 at 11:36 am

What’s the weight savings of a LW-15 lower as opposed to a non-LW AR? I took my brother shooting this past weekend and he fired my S&W MP15 Sport and couldn’t believe how light it was. I quickly referred him to the LW’s but I didn’t have any numbers on weight savings

jacquiecliff December 27, 2012 at 11:57 am

Can’t wait to get my hands on this piece of hardware :) Although…I suppose I will have to share with the husband so he doesn’t start whining. :)

X702 December 27, 2012 at 1:27 pm

The winner of our last LW-15 Complete Lower giveaway has been selected and notified. The winner has 1 week to respond to my email and accept their prize!

Thanks again to New Frontier Armory for sponsoring this great giveaway!

Flako January 1, 2013 at 10:36 pm

This seems like a good choice for a cheap, lightweight, secondary rifle. and for the price, its worth giving it a shot.

Chicksdigwagons January 12, 2013 at 9:17 pm

I’m excited to give a poly lower a shot. I’m a big fan of the Glock. The big question is, are you still giving these away given the recent increase in value? :D

X702 January 12, 2013 at 9:25 pm

No, we are not still giving them away. However it has nothing to do with the value but the fact that the last one was awarded December 27th.

Ddave333 January 23, 2013 at 9:11 am

I would love one of these to be my first AR. I would be Proud to own this product and put my own 1700 rounds through it.

cdotson123 January 30, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Thanks for the review! I have been shopping for a lower and found the New Frontier Armory LW-15 lower but didn’t know much about it. After reading I am sold and have one ordered and will be getting it next week.

stonemanwm March 6, 2013 at 10:36 am

Having built two M4s (for two of my three sons) with aluminum lowers, when I began to build my third son a M4, the out of sight cost of another aluminum lower was a issue. I researched and realized that composite lowers may just be the wave of the future. I procured one (New Frontier Armory Lower Receiver) this week and it will be in by this weekend. I have to build in stages to keep my wife happy but I will enjoy this one as my youngest (of three) son (36) will be doing the work as it will be his. The lifetime warranty is a big plus for this companies product and reputation! I am looking forward to see this M4 being built, and experience the difference (if any) from conventional aluminum systems. I will make a post after we have completed this new project and my three sons have evaluated the latest M4.

russla April 8, 2013 at 10:18 pm

I bought mine for a build, and when my upper came, it wouldn’t fit. the same upper fits on a LMT lower without issue, the front pin goes in fine, but I have to force it closed, and the rear pin won’t close. I can’t reopen it, I have to pull the front pin to disassemble.

702Shooter April 10, 2013 at 12:36 pm

What did NFA have to say when you contacted them about this?

ProtectingThe SecondAmendment.com April 12, 2013 at 2:04 am

So my question is, if the Polymer Lower is so awesome why would it not be your SHTF gun? A glock is many people’s, why would an AR with a polymer lower that operates the same and is every bit as durable also not be a great gun for when SHTF? Just curious because I myself am getting them just for that purpose :-) Thanks for the great article!

702Shooter April 12, 2013 at 8:04 am

I don’t recall saying the lower was “awesome” or that it is as “durable as a Glock.” Why would I not want it for a SHTF situation? Well, for starters, it isn’t designed for that and the manufactured themselves will tell you this. Secondly, other than the LW-15′s, every other AR I own is at least a 3k build because I’m an AR snob like that. ;) It’s about personal preference.

sub shooter July 8, 2013 at 2:25 am

Got one of these for my wife and daughter due to the lighter weight. My daughter used hers at a 4 day rifle class and not a problem. They seem pretty solid and the trigger isn’t bad either.

flyturtle September 5, 2013 at 12:17 am

Just want to build…

Previous post:

Next post: