Slide Fire Solutions SSAK-47 XRS Bumpfire Stock

by 702Shooter on · 166 comments

THIS IS AN INACTIVE GIVEAWAY!

IMG 0455 300x168 Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire StockOver the years I’ve often considered picking up an AK-47 but to be honest, I’ve never bitten the bullet and done so.  One of the reasons for this is that although I’ve shot them a number of times, I’m not much of an AK fan and I definitely am not as well versed with them as I am with the AR platform.  Still, I do have some interest in getting to know the AK a bit more if for no other reason than to be better educated when it comes to the AR vs. AK debates.  There are also a ton of AK related products that I’m sure our readers would be interested in but they are kind of difficult to review if one doesn’t own an AK.  icon wink Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire Stock   When the guys at Slide Fire Solutions mentioned that they were developing an AK-47 version of their SSAR-15 stock, I started thinking more seriously about adding one to my rifle line up.  Inevitably, it happened.

So what does this stock do?  It works off the recoil of the firearm and allows everything from the receiver forward to slide back and forth in the stock while keeping your trigger finger stationary.  Keeping the stock and your trigger finger stationary while pushing forward on the forearm will create the “bumping” effect which in turn increases the rate of fire while conforming to all laws which require a separate trigger pull for each round fired.  When used correctly, this stock allows for much greater control of the rifle than any other bumpfire method making it the safest way to achieve rapid fire without purchasing an NFA regulated gun.

IMG 0483 Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire Stock

The installation of this stock is pretty simple.  I had a good understanding of the concept since I have previously reviewed the SSAR-15 stock and it’s more or less the same.  Remove the original stock and pistol grip, install the interface block, and slide the interface into the new SSAK-47 stock.  This process requires the removal of 3 screws which are then replaced with 2 nut/bolt combinations.  So easy, my Grandmother could probably do it.

IMG 0486 200x112 Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire Stock IMG 0488 200x112 Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire Stock IMG 0490 200x112 Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire Stock

How well does it work?  Hell if I know.  After the great success we experienced with the AR version, I was very excited and had high hopes/expectations for the AK one.  Unfortunately, my results from this stock differ quite a bit from the previous model.  I’m not going to say it doesn’t work but I will say that between the 3 of us who tried it out, the SSAK-47 does not function as effortlessly as the SSAR-15.  One thing that I believe would make a significant impact would be the use of a front post grip.  Not only will it keep you from burning your hand as the barrel heats up but it will also allow for better leverage when pushing the front of the gun forward.  The recoil of the AK is vastly different than that of the AR so more pressure appears to be required to keep the “bump” action going.

I’ve taken this stock out on two separate occasions and used it on two different AKs.  The first time I went out with pleary454, a regular reader of this site as well as a lifelong fan of the AK-47.  The stock worked off and on but we discovered a feed issue which may have been caused by a dented top cover.  Because of this, I’ve held off writing this review until I could try the stock on a different AK.  The second time out I invited jetsetterak who won the last Slide Fire giveaway we did.  This time, I installed the SSAK-47 on my brand new AK which has been outfitted with a Tapco AK G2 trigger.  We tried 3 types of ammo in 3 different kinds of magazines, all of which provided the same results.

IMG 0482 300x168 Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire Stock IMG 0484 300x168 Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire Stock

Mag 1 unloaded perfectly.  From then on, it was hit and miss.  We found an issue with light firing pin strikes while bumpfiring so we decided to lock the stock and test it one shot at a time.  The rifle fired fine doing this so that tends to make me lean towards the stock itself being a contributing factor.  I’ll also reference back to the previous front post comment and suggest that had we used a post grip, we could have controlled the forward pressure better and perhaps that was enough to create the problem.  I’m just throwing this out there but it could be similar to the effect seen when people “limp wrist” a pistol and get FTF.

While proof reading this post I decided to visit Slide Fire’s website and read through their FAQ.  I found this:

  1. The amount of pressure used to push the gun forward has been the biggest problem in regards to the effective use of Slide Fire™ stock systems. The amount of force needed is far less than most would assume, and only 4-6 lbs. of forward pressure should be needed. This should be just enough to barely pull the trigger, and any extra will counteract the recoil and restrict bolt movement causing miss-feeds or trigger reset failures to occur. There is generally a two magazine learning curve and for some it takes a few tries to get the “touch” right.
  2. Quality ammo is very important to the performance of our stocks. Our design works by using the recoil produced by the firearm. Lower quality ammo with less power cannot produce enough recoil to effectively operate the firearm with our product. The amount recoil given by a 9mm is the lowest amount of recoil generally recommended in order to properly use the Slide Fire™ stock system.
  3. The type of trigger your rifle has also can have an impact on operation of the Slide Fire™ stock system. We have seen consistent issues with triggers designated as “match” style triggers. Two-stage triggers or those designed for a light trigger pull have a tendency to cause problems with light primer strikes and inconsistent trigger resets.

I’ve seen many a video where this stock works just fine, including on Saiga 12 shotguns,  so I’m inclined to think there could be some operator head space issues involved here.  With more practice, I’m comfortable in saying that the stock will most likely perform as it should.  The learning curve is just a bit higher than that of their AR model.  I’m sure one of you AK47 peeps will be more than happy to win this stock and figure it all out.

To enter into this drawing, all you need to do is leave a comment below. This drawing will be done on 6-24-12, two months from today. Be sure to review the “GIVEAWAYS” page for additional rules and information.

Special thanks to Patrick and Chris for helping out with this review.

dp seal trans 16x16 Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire StockCopyright secured by Digiprove © 2012-2014 702Multimedia.com Admin
 Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire Stock 702Shooter (162 Posts)

A devilishly handsome individual, 702Shooter is a sucker for adorable puppies, long walks on the beach, and cuddling after romantic interludes. In his spare time he runs this website and raises penguins in his back yard.

Website Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire StockFacebook Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire StockTwitter Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire StockYouTube Slide Fire Solutions SSAK 47 XRS Bumpfire Stock

Additional posts you may be interested in:

{ 2 trackbacks }

What Have You Got to Lose?: Aaron Spuler’s May Gun Contests | The Truth About Guns
May 9, 2012 at 1:01 pm
You’ll Swoon at Aaron Spuler’s June Gun and Stuff Giveaways | | The Truth About GunsThe Truth About Guns
June 8, 2012 at 11:10 am

{ 164 comments… read them below or add one }

toyotatacomasr5 April 25, 2012 at 8:20 am

Nice! never seen one for a AK before!

dragongixxer April 25, 2012 at 8:28 am

Sweet prize! Good luck everyone!

dragongixxer April 25, 2012 at 8:47 am

I own a Saiga variant 7.62.x39 and have bump fired using the hip and belt loop method and I must say that being able to bring it the shoulder would be just a hair more accurate and more cost effective on the wallet when replacing ammo. I wonder if the Tapco trigger conversion will hinder the firing issues noted in the write up above. Thank you for the opportunity.

doull76 April 25, 2012 at 9:08 am

Interesting. Thanks for the opportunity.

addlemanb April 25, 2012 at 9:31 am

I’ll give it a shot…

eadolph April 25, 2012 at 10:34 am

Thanks again for the Opp. Would love to win one of your packages.

-out

bisonium April 25, 2012 at 11:12 am

way cool…

charlienothing April 25, 2012 at 12:50 pm

that is amazing!

captainbarred April 25, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Very Cool!

buddy April 25, 2012 at 2:05 pm

would love to win one… I have been thinking about getting the AR version……

702SHOOTERDOC April 25, 2012 at 2:38 pm

I’ve seen this Bump-Fire stock in person.. It Rocks!!!
Kinda like an AK-Tommy Gun,
Gotta Have it!
Gonna buy it if I don’t win it!

sxipro April 25, 2012 at 3:50 pm

Looks like it takes some practice.

702 April 25, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Agreed.

angrycookieman April 25, 2012 at 4:17 pm

I think they will end up outlawing these stocks eventually, but until then they are lots of fun!

702 April 25, 2012 at 5:56 pm

A few stores in town have told me they aren’t interested in carrying them because they feel they will someday be outlawed. My response has been similar to yours. They are legal now and people want to buy them.

Bigmac98 April 25, 2012 at 4:21 pm

I would be more than willing to take one for the team and put some time in and see how much operater error is really involved. I hope that the product works and it is operator error because I really want it to work. Thanks, Dan

bradman April 25, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Nice!!! Good Luck everyone :)

HeyGuysWatchThis April 25, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Hmm, maybe it’s time to get around to making my AK 922r compliant to allow for this kind of fun stuff.

bonehead098 April 25, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Iwould like to try one.

Boogerscat April 25, 2012 at 5:57 pm

These are cool. My buddy has one on his AK, and there are two things taht really help. First, a vertical grip on the fore end helps with forward pressure and control. Second, a lot of ammo! You’ll need it to find the “sweet spot”, and once there, you’ll quickly shoot off all you brought! I’d love to win one of these, since I can’t justify the expense, but “free” is the best price there is!

deadhead133 April 25, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Would I like to win this? Oh yeah!!

Marshall Law April 25, 2012 at 7:52 pm

This would look great on my AK.

Herrin April 25, 2012 at 8:22 pm

I’ve been considering getting an AK. This would definitely force me to bite the bullet on that purchase.

jbedford82 April 25, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Very cool, but I hope it doesn’t end up like the Akins Accelerator did.
You know some anti-gunner is going to stumble across one of these YouTube videos and end up pooping their pants!

Jeepers April 26, 2012 at 12:36 am

i want to play :)

Aether April 26, 2012 at 1:54 am

Do you have any plans to try it with 5.45 or 5.56?

Mikes_Z06_Vette April 26, 2012 at 3:21 am

like you mentioned, the knob looks freakin’ oversized and too close to the pistol grip. What is up with your AK47? you made it seem like the AK47′s are the biggest P.O.S. when you give that sigh… lol

702 April 26, 2012 at 8:17 am

If the shoe fits…

justin April 26, 2012 at 6:51 am

I definitely agree with others…this would be a great excuse to purchase an AK platform. I would love to add one to the arsenal.

onehappycampster April 26, 2012 at 8:50 am

Awwww sweetness. I need that on my Arsenal!

xcamo82x April 26, 2012 at 9:12 am

Looks like a cool stock. Good luck everyone.

Pookie6437 April 26, 2012 at 9:21 am

Anyone who has a bad shoulder would take serious consideration to the relief this has to offer…

redhed97 April 26, 2012 at 9:26 am

I need one for my Tantal.

m4bangr April 26, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Its too bad that it seems like there are some issues that need to be worked out with this stock. That locking knob definitely looks like it needs to be redesigned.
Having said that, I would still love to give one a workout though. :)

rolnthundr1 April 26, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Count me in!

NesOne April 26, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Great review and video. I wonder if it worked better on the AR because of the difference in recoil from the AK. Either way, it seems like a great product!!

swmcphrsn April 26, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Sign me up!

Casull April 26, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Stocks like these make things more intriguing for new shooters, too. I mean, when people hear they can’t own a fully automatic rifle they get bummed. I’m not trying to say a new shooter needs to go off on full auto -after all, they’ll run out of ammo pretty quick- but I do think this is intriguing and offers a life experience people want. I mean, who doesn’t want to shoot “full auto” am I right?

jonbeile April 26, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Bump fire is good for California?

702 April 26, 2012 at 7:14 pm
tommy777 April 26, 2012 at 8:33 pm

Would love to win one of your packages.

bblatt11 April 26, 2012 at 11:48 pm

Given how well bumpfire works on the AR vs the AK, now I’m wondering if a piston AR would also be difficult to bumpfire. Video idea?

justxvictor April 26, 2012 at 11:54 pm

if I win I’d have to buy myself an AK!

perna April 27, 2012 at 12:11 am

I would love to try it out.

hd931271 April 27, 2012 at 7:29 am

awesome giveaway love the review hope to win it

andrew April 27, 2012 at 7:53 am

If I win, all your wildest dreams will come true.

mutantpoo April 27, 2012 at 7:59 am

Very interesting. I had not seen a vid where the slidefire messed up up so much. Don’t let Mr. Kalashnikov ever see it, his heart might not be able to take it :]

I have been mulling over getting an AK and if I win I don’t think I’d have any choice but to get one.

bulletinjection April 27, 2012 at 11:58 pm

People will always have the want to bump-fire a weapon and I love that these stocks allow for much safer operation and control while doing so. A+!

Psylantwolf April 28, 2012 at 1:08 am

This would REALLY help for a saiga-12 I think. Found it borderline too dangerous to bump fire 3 inch 12 gauge without a stock like this.

RStansell April 28, 2012 at 9:33 pm

As cool as they seem, thats the only reason I can see myself adding one to the toy chest: as something cool to play with.

I like ripping of a full mag as much as the net guy though, so I might have to pick one up just for a range toy.

smidwids April 29, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Having never fired a fully automatic or a bump fire is it difficult to keep it on target? Can you hit consistantly at fifty yards?

IL308Shooter April 30, 2012 at 5:46 am

My AK is a Yugo underfolder, so if I were to win one of these, I’d have to buy a new AK, oh the pain :D

Ronin May 1, 2012 at 9:36 am

May need some tweaking but looks like a great addition to the toy box…

T.N.Spade May 1, 2012 at 10:12 am

I can not wait to get my hands on one of these for my AK-74!!!

aquaticvisions May 1, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Shooting an AK semi-auto has always seemed, well…weak to me. The AK should be full-auto!! This device makes that happen without all the political hoop jumping.

xd dug May 1, 2012 at 3:24 pm

This works on both 47 & 74 right

702 May 1, 2012 at 6:18 pm

According the the manufacturers website, yes.

mac2515 May 2, 2012 at 5:40 am

American free market creativity at work. God bless America and Slidefire. This is a dream come true, no paperwork, no restricted use, no outlandish cost.

xxMadRocKxx May 2, 2012 at 12:16 pm

I win!!!

pleary454 May 2, 2012 at 8:05 pm

I’d still take it. It works, but it does take some getting used to it. I do think a vertical grip would make it run better. I have a different AK I wanted to try it on, (a custom built AK), but could not make the second shoot. Overall, it seems to be a good product and has a simple installation, but holding the forearm to get he bump fire with the forearm you saw on my rifle is a bit awkward at first. I am sure with practice you could be more proficient. Overall, I think you could have lots of fun with this product.

AL IN STL May 3, 2012 at 2:04 pm

GREAT!!! WOULD MAKE ME RECONSIDER GETTING AN AK OR A SAIGA

nathan.bumgarner88 May 4, 2012 at 2:52 am

Thanks again for the awsome promotions.

Jtapia May 4, 2012 at 11:35 am

Looks like a blast. I would like to give it a go, ‘Fo Sho’.

KEEPER OF STEEL May 4, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Definately on my wishlist for this year…

Mary Toleson May 4, 2012 at 8:45 pm

ave been interested in these for awhile but not sure if I could handle it. Would be fun to try and see.

ToddG May 8, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Looks like fun, although the latter part of the video it seemed more trouble than fun. Still, would make for a great way to rip through a few boxes of money.

rokurota May 9, 2012 at 10:30 am

This will give the range owners a fit! That alone is worth having one! Consider me entered.

jgolden May 9, 2012 at 10:40 am

Sweet. Enter me.

702 May 9, 2012 at 11:23 am

Please read the giveaway rules.

whatagreatdane May 9, 2012 at 11:23 am

Can’t wait to throw this on an ak. I’ll burn through all of my ammo in a couple of days with a grin on my face.

cncswiss1 May 9, 2012 at 3:36 pm

does it use the “tang” on the AK stock mount? or do you have to cut it off?

MDFalco May 9, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Perfect timing, I’ve been looking at AK’s recently.

Geodkyt May 10, 2012 at 12:12 am

I would DEFINATELY throw myself on the grenade of fiddling with this stock until it worked relaibly for me. I was thinking that a Magpul AFG might be just the ticket for these slide fire stocks, and honestly, an AFG would look a lot “cleaner” on an AK than a broomstick foregrip, anyway.

For those worried about ATF doing to these what they did to Akins, there are several differences:

1. ATF actually tested this system BEFORE writing the determination letter. The initial testing of the Akins was skipped, because they managed to break it before testing, and were puzzling it out in their head. That’s why the initial Akins letter is so interesting — it doesn’t actually say the Akins Accelerator is legal. . . when you boil down the gobbeldy-gook weasel words, it says, “Well, we can’t test it, but we THINK we understand it — and it’s legal as long as it isn’t illegal.” (That, chilluns, is what we call CYA “kicking the can down the street,” — it certainly isn’t a positive classification determination.)

2. The Akins Accelerator works so as to turn a semiautomatic rifle into a recoil operated automatic one, BECAUSE of the spring. Since ATF has LONG (and successfully) held that the legal definition of “trigger” is “that thing that makes the gun go bang” (re: York Sputtergun, the pushbutton on an electric drill hooked to a Gatling gun, etc.), it was easy to classify the Akins as a machinegun conversion kit when it has the spring. Clamp a Slidefire stock in a vice and pull the trigger with a stick, and it will fire ONE shot. Clamp an Akins in a vice and pull the trigger with a stick, and it will fire until you release the trigger, it runs out of ammo, or jams. Clamp a selective fire M16 in a vice with the Happy Switch on “Giggles”, pull the trigger,and you will get the same result as the Akins. Sing along, kids — “One of these things is NOT like the others. . . ”

3. Akins ADVERTISED it as an ATF approved “off the books” machinegun. This drew negative attention to Tech Branch, which reacted EXACTLY as the mindless bureaucratic organism it is.

Aquarian May 10, 2012 at 7:29 am

Now THIS would definitely make for some summer fun!

SSShooter May 10, 2012 at 7:41 am

I’ve never had much luck with bumpfire, so I find this very intriguing.

soaz May 10, 2012 at 3:40 pm

do WANT!!

702 May 10, 2012 at 3:50 pm

WON’T get! There be rules n stuff to follow.

pavaloni May 10, 2012 at 6:18 pm

This will so good on my ak74!

Rodger May 11, 2012 at 7:22 am

A bumpfire is just what I need.

curtismb May 11, 2012 at 1:22 pm
turnure33 May 11, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Have heard some good things about the bump fire stock but haven’t had the chance to try it out. Would love to win this for my AK

gatorschomp May 11, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Winning this would be a great excuse to add an AK to the collection!

jinchoe May 12, 2012 at 8:00 am

haha patrick is lucky his mustache didnt get caught in between the receiver and stock!

702 May 12, 2012 at 8:04 am

LOL If he grows that thing another inch, that could happen. ;)

kirkh2o May 13, 2012 at 10:35 pm

looks interesting. always up for playing with fun stuff.

thesandmn May 14, 2012 at 10:44 am

i need one of these

DonVito May 14, 2012 at 12:55 pm

I have been wanting to get an AK for a while so I can do some modifications and upgrades in my home shop to make a better version of the infamous ak. If I were to win one of these I think I would have to buy it sooner just so I can play with it. Thanks for the video, it was fairly informative and makes this product look easy enough to use. I have heard of slidefire, but never really payed much attention until seeing this. I have an AR and I might have to look into one of those as well. Keep up the good work and find me more cool stuff to “invest” my money into.

jbornfree May 15, 2012 at 3:56 pm

cool. can’t wait to try it

Chiroblackley May 16, 2012 at 7:53 am

Would love to win this!

DeezGsx May 17, 2012 at 10:32 am

Awesome!!

FLdeepdiver May 17, 2012 at 12:49 pm

The gun shop I work at also has a range and wont allow them. Too afraid of inexperienced shooters ripping into the ceiling. But people are defiantly asking for them…

one5oh2nv May 17, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Ive been wanting to buy one of these for both the ak and the ar but cant get myself to spend the money! nice review!

Phillyfan May 18, 2012 at 11:45 am

If I win this, I will buy an AK!

jroberts102287 May 18, 2012 at 2:15 pm

Outstanding! I’ve been hoping this would be a sweepstakes item.

Bajabuzz May 19, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Looks like it could be fun! Interested to try it out!

Dead3nd May 19, 2012 at 5:53 pm

I have looked at this slidefire stock several times, both at NFA and Lock n Load. I love the concept and feel of it, but I just can’t get behind the price. The steep price tag makes it a very nice giveaway item and I wish everyone luck!

sks447 May 21, 2012 at 11:14 am

I just picked up a Mak 90 with a slant cut receiver. I wonder if this would work on it? Looks like a great option for those who don’t have 12k for a full-auto.

highpowerd May 23, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Needless to say, ak’s eat up ammo really fast! And are plenty effective as a semi auto……. But who wouldn’t want to pump as much lead down range as possible!?! I don’t even have my WASR-10 yet but i would still love to have this just in anticipation! Thank you for making it possible!

a1tac May 25, 2012 at 12:53 am

This is awesome

Thanks for this giveaway!

This is a awesome stock. that would really help out a disabled veteran!

Thanks!

mac2515 May 26, 2012 at 1:24 pm

WOW! If shooting this doesn’t bring a big ol smile to your face then your smiler is broken.

thirst4ale May 27, 2012 at 11:02 am

Yes please, I could enjoy this greatly.

Chiroblackley May 27, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Would love to win. Good luck all!

bammthis May 27, 2012 at 11:31 pm

great giveaway

gtashmore May 28, 2012 at 4:03 pm

I will love & cherish it.

jennifer57 May 30, 2012 at 2:38 pm
docchocalate June 2, 2012 at 6:45 am

Have one on the AR-15, a friend called it like sex with a firearm.

SHIGURUI June 2, 2012 at 9:14 am

Was muzzle climb much of an issue vs. the AR version?
7mm AK’s are relatively jumpy in the FA version, especially without a muzzle brake.
Does anyone have any reviews of this product’s effect on accuracy past 20 yards??
That being said, 5.45 looks like a great fit for this sort of apparatus.

wilddcatt9 June 5, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Now it will go bang faster

Previous post:

Next post: