Impact Sport Electronic Earmuffs by Howard Leight

Impact Sport Electronic Earmuffs by Howard Leight Side ViewThe Impact Sport Electronic Earmuffs from Howard Leight are the number 1 selling electronic earmuff on the market.  They are competitively priced, low profile, comfortable to wear, and best of all, they work very well.  These electronic earmuffs are designed to do two things.  First off, they protect your hearing by cutting off any noise that exceeds 82 dB.  A quick Google search pointed me to information on OSHA’s website which shows the set cutoff exceeds OSHA standards.  The second thing the Impact Sport does is amplify ambient sound up to 82 dB.  This means that although gun shot noise is reduced, you are still able to clearly hear other things around you.

How many times have you been out shooting and pulled your hearing protection off or to the side so you could have a conversation?  With this product, that is no longer necessary.  While wearing them you can hear everything perfectly fine without anybody needing to raise their voice.  Not only are your ears better protected but awareness is raised because you can now hear range safety officer commands and RSO’s can hear and respond quicker to any situations that may arise.  If you are taking any firearms training classes, you should have these.  In fact, there are some training facilities who actually require electronic hearing protection for all students and staff.  Those of you who may already have some hearing loss will appreciate the ability to turn up the volume so you can hear instructions.  For hunters, you can turn the volume all the way up and get 3x amplification for the sounds around you.  This allows you to hear hogs, deer, etc…as they approach.

Impact Sport Electronic Earmuffs by Howard Leight Impact Sport Electronic Earmuffs by Howard Leight Impact Sport Electronic Earmuffs by Howard Leight

The microphones located on both sides of the headset are used to pick up the noise and feed it through for processing.  These earmuffs have a noise reduction rating of 22 dB.  There is also a mini plug that you can use to connect an iPod or similar device so you can listen to music.  Audio levels are adjusted by an easily accessible knob on the side of the units.

They weigh in at 10.5 oz with the 2 included AAA batteries which are said to have a 350 hour life.  There is a 4 hour auto shut off feature in case you forget to turn them off.

I decided to shoot the video for this review at Discount Firearms & Ammo because their store carries the product and one of their employees, “Brooklyn” John, has had experience with several different types of electronic earmuffs.  When I asked John to help out, he happily agreed.  Check out the video below to see how the Impact Sport worked for him.

Last January I bumped into Chris Leight at the SHOT Show.  Chris took a few minutes to talk with me about the full line of Howard Leight products and really went into the specifications and sound measurement in great depth.

Impact Sport Electronic Earmuffs by Howard Leight

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove © 2012

, , , , , , , , ,

267 Responses to Impact Sport Electronic Earmuffs by Howard Leight

  1. Clint-M January 7, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Those look great! I’ve been looking for some good high quality ear protection for a while now but I haven’t checked out the electronic sets. Thanks for the review.


  2. chaskunz January 7, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Good review. Thanks!

  3. mswguitar January 7, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    I could definitely use some new eyes and ears, count me in please!

  4. SideForce January 7, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Been eyeing a set of these for all the reasons mentioned in the review.

  5. LeonSORTX January 7, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Looks great!! Bonus for playing your iPhone music!!

  6. doeboy January 7, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    I am still using some el cheapo plastic ear inserts. These would make an excellent upgrade.

  7. Audiocracy January 7, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    Thanks for the great review!

  8. justxvictor January 7, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    it would be great to stop using the disposable foam ear plugs!

  9. teamwest January 7, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    I got a chance to try on a pair a friend has. They have a very natural sound and to be able to hook into an MP3 player makes me want a pair even more.

    • 702 January 7, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

      Add some to your next order. :)

      RSR Item #: HLR01526
      Availability: 393 Units

  10. perna January 7, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Another great review and giveaway!

  11. m4bangr January 7, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    I have a pair of Impact Sports that I’ve used for about a year now. They are very nice and work well. My one gripe is that I wish they made the foam around the ear cup a little thicker, kinda tough to get a good seal where the skull is a little boney behind the ear. At least for me. If the foam was a little thicker they would be perfect.

  12. VegasExec January 7, 2012 at 7:30 pm #

    I have some non-electronic pairs, same maker, but to be able to plug in my mp3 player…Shazaaam!

    I find that when wearing my own glasses, I get a nice tight fit around the ears. When I wear ‘shooting glasses’ the bows always seem too thick and never let the foam close tightly around the ear.

  13. rffreq January 7, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    These sound like the solution to many of my problems and concerns. I will have to get a pair of these newfangled electronic doohickeys to try. I repaired electronics from TV/radio up to infrared and x-ray cat scanners, so excuse me. For years all I ever saw was broken electronics and I have a trust issue.

    • 702 January 7, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

      “newfangled electronic doohickeys”

      That’s awesome. I’m gonna go add that the the tags right now. :)

  14. martinf January 7, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    Look great. Need a set.

  15. teRRy January 7, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I love mine. I found these to be significantly more comfortable and better built than the Caldwells.

  16. CulinaryShogun January 7, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    always wanted to try these but never sure about reviews until i actually try them myself

  17. chaoticmind January 7, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    These ear muff are great. I need to get a second pair for people I take shooting with me.

  18. verticlbob January 8, 2012 at 1:33 am #

    I’ve been thinking about investing in some electronic earmuffs. These seem to be pretty nice.

  19. rolnthundr1 January 8, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    Great review, count me in for the drawing. Thanks!

  20. joshuat January 8, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    Count me in for a pair. I’m still using regular inserts and nothing when I go hunting. I’d like my ears not ringing when I return home for once.

  21. easytarget925 January 8, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    great review. They seem to have gotten it right. Count me in for the drawing

  22. martinestrada January 8, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    I tried these with a buddy of mine. The worked great. They allowed us to communicate without having to remove the muffs! Great product!

  23. jim January 8, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I have a custom molded pair of earplugs that do a great job of protecting by ears…but its hard to hear what I need to hear with them in. This looks like the best of both worlds

  24. slickvegas January 8, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    I will be trying them out this SHOT Show. I’ve spent tons of money on ears in the past and haven’t found “the one” yet so maybe this will be it.

  25. dqpaet January 8, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Being that I have somewhat damaged my hearing from previous outings out in the range with some terrible ear protection, this product would be a great edition for my day out on the range to once again enjoy recreational shooting without the worry of further damaging my hearing

  26. Sergior72 January 10, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    Count me in for a pair of them, please!!!

  27. buddy January 10, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    These are very well built and comfortable. They are priced very well too…. a very good investment to protect your hearing. Haven’t tried out the eye protection yet but its on my list…

  28. gunhand January 12, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    These work very well, and I of course would love to win a pair!!!

  29. Bulletheadjimmy January 12, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    i would like to win these and use them for shooting and for when I work and operate machinery

  30. rbs86 January 13, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Great review.

  31. dale s January 14, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    These are awesome ! My buddy got a pair. He called me from the range and talked to me through them with his i phone plugged in !

  32. calugojr January 14, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    I had a pair of these before, they were awesome. I need to look into getting another pair once I can scrounge up the money. However I bet they would have worked better for the guy in the video, had he read his instructions and had them on the correct way! If they worked that good on his head incorrectly to where they aren’t fitted around his ears correctly with a good seal then imagine how well they work if they were!

    • 702 January 14, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

      Nothing in the package indicated which direction they should be worn. I also checked the website. Other things I have seen suggest he was wearing them right since they are directional headphones intended for picking up noises behind you and not those from down range. However, in the video, Chris puts them on the way you are suggesting.

  33. baden68 January 14, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    I have a set and really like them. Good ears for the price.

  34. lvgsxr1 January 15, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    I’ve only really ever used plug style ear protection but I wouldn’t mind giving these a try.

  35. SCJeffro January 16, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    I have a set of these and love them!! I would like to get another set to lend out to friends I take out shooting!

  36. pleary454 January 16, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    I can always use a pair. These work very well and are comfortable. They do not get in the way when shooting a rifle or shotgun. Overall, they are an excellent addition to for your shooting needs.

  37. Miketheplinker January 17, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    Those look very nice and because they are so slim it looks like you would have no issues with your ear protection laying on your buttstock like I have with the ear muffs I currently use

  38. Frank January 17, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    They look great .. I’ll be stopping by to check them out.. I like the reviews on them

  39. Bagger January 17, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    I would love to have a set of these when shooting with the kids.

  40. 702SHOOTERDOC January 19, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    I have been looking for reasonable, practical & functional ear protection for some time now. I was so impressed by your review that I have already ordered a pair. Thank you for saving what is left of my hearing!

  41. lephi January 20, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    Good review, been mulling over a pair of electronic muffs for awhile now

  42. dscottw88 January 21, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    My motto has and always shall be: “Never turn down free stuff” and I’m not about to make an exception.

  43. gscdoc January 21, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    I have regular muffs now and would love a pair of electronic ones!

  44. TennSCN January 23, 2012 at 1:07 am #

    Shooting to music? That will be a new experience. I’m in.

  45. sxipro January 23, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    Maybe I can use these at work too for aircraft noise.

  46. dindale January 24, 2012 at 4:01 am #

    I have a pair – they are very nice. Now I need a couple for the kids for when we hit the range.

  47. SamNVegas January 24, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    I have one pair now and they are great. I thought it was great hooking my iphone up to them until my wife called and i accidentally answered while on the range. she had no idea I was at the range, so you can imagine what she must have thought when she heard automatics rifles going off when I answered.

  48. carolinafan January 24, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    These look interesting. I’ve read a lot about the electronic earmuffs, but I’ve never actually had the chance to use any. I read the comment about hooking your iphone up to them. That’s pretty cool!

  49. dpd0710 January 25, 2012 at 5:57 am #

    As a law enforcement firearms instructor, those would be very beneficial to me on the range

  50. Raco January 25, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    I need a new pair of ears, my industrial ear protectors are falling apart and feel like I have my head in a vise!

  51. slickvegas January 27, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    I tried these on at the SHOT show and will now be looking for a pair at this weekends gun show at the Cashman.

  52. arTurtle15 January 28, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    Looks awesome. I could use these at home. My wife tends to get above 85db.

    • 702 January 28, 2012 at 6:30 am #

      LOL, Best reply yet. :)

  53. crappiekiller2 January 29, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    I have a set similar to these. Would like to get another one.

  54. jetsetterak January 30, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    I have been running these for close to a year now and must say that for the price they are hard to beat.

  55. Ronk February 2, 2012 at 3:18 am #

    BIG PROBLEM!!! When the battery goes out there is no way to change to new batteries. No instruction manual either

    • 702 February 2, 2012 at 6:37 am #

      Are you serious? This is what I like to refer to as “Pilot Error.” The “BIG PROBLEM” here has nothing to do with the product.

      The earmuffs come with the batteries not installed. So, before you had to worry about the battery going out, you already installed them once. If you need a refresher on how to remove and install new batteries, check the second video 26 seconds in.

      BTW, that info is in the included instruction manual as well.

  56. Shadow. February 3, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Excellent review, thanks for the chance I have been Looking for an electronic set

  57. radrobbeatty February 3, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    I have been using the Peltor Tactical 6 Behind the Head model. I have found that I have to readjust them on my head often. I have been seeing this product being run by the guys at my Z.E.R.T. training classes lately. I will be trying them soon. I like they use dual forward and rear facing mic system and the jack for Mp3’s/Mic. Also the use of standard AA batteries are a plus. Thanks for the review.

  58. sxipro February 3, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Very nice!

  59. 702 February 7, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    The first winner has been notified. 3 more pair to give away!

  60. jim February 8, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    Thanks. I’ll wear them and be happy!

  61. teRRy February 8, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    Congrats Jim!

  62. jim February 8, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    I want to thank the 702Shooter universe and Howard Leight for this great prize. For those that have them, I am sure my experiences will be as the same. I’ll post as soon as I get them. Thanks again!.

  63. SarahS February 13, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    These look like just what I need! My pair of ear protection is way to bulky and its so hard to hear anyone talk to me. I was looking for a better pair that are more comfortable,provide some customization to hear instructors but also provide good protection when I shoot my LMT .308, these look perfect!

  64. thirst4ale February 15, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    I’ve never used Electronic earmuffs, I could surely use some though.

  65. strider_remix February 15, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    responsible shooting should be a gun owners priority and that starts with safety. Great article, looks like a great product. Would love to have these for my shooting excursion.

  66. kirkh2o February 15, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    I have used both radians and peltor. I tried these at the shot show and like the compression over the clipping. I will be picking up a pair of these. im also waiting for the pro verson.

  67. zrocool February 16, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Definitely a product I need…

  68. dragonmouse February 17, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    nice item would love to try em out.

  69. Beretta96 February 17, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    Howard Leight makes good ear protection.

  70. Saturnlv February 17, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Looks great. Thanks for a chance to win.

  71. Anderson155 February 17, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Awesome count me in as well

  72. ShipSTG February 17, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    I would love a pair!!!

  73. nmonty February 18, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    Count me in. Thanks!

  74. mustv8 February 18, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Thanks, i would love a pair. Keep up the good work.

  75. Sergior72 February 18, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Congrats Jim I actually bought a set the other day and used them in the range I loved them!!! I know I prolly had wait a bit and maybe I be a lucky winner, but since I never win nothing buy them!!!

  76. BakedonGrease February 19, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    Yet another product I’ve heard about but never tried. Would be interesting to see how effective they are.

  77. maverickps February 20, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I got one of these and they are great.

  78. kmankrh February 20, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    These sound perfect for 3 gun training! Thanks for all of the giveaways!

  79. WeaponsCache February 20, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    I’ll have to check these out

  80. telomere February 20, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    The pair I have are great. Good performance at a great price.
    Pretty hard to beat for the shooter on a budget.

  81. wghayestx February 20, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    These would blow away the ears i currently use!!

  82. mwilt72 February 21, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    Nice ear pro. I’ve been looking at these for a while.

  83. cvg1dlh February 21, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    I would love a set.

  84. yojimbo February 21, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Yee-haw, those look terrific. Count me in. And thanks for the chance to win.

  85. AK47sForAll February 21, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    Now those would be useful to have!

  86. brendan.malloy February 21, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    I have heard these are great, love to test this out.

  87. Melon February 22, 2012 at 6:49 am #

    I like the muffs. The glasses would be a bonus.

  88. r45evg February 22, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    Good review. I’m in

  89. justinuk1 February 23, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    Nice piece of equipment! Sure beats the foamies I usually use..

  90. agent000x February 23, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Sure would beat the cheap ones I’m using.

  91. ar February 24, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Looks like great hearing protection. Would be very useful for hunting.

  92. CaustusPium February 25, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    Had a pair, liked the fit and function, they didn’t interfere with my cheek weld. Unfortunately, I made the mistake of loaning them and they were lost. Wouldn’t mind another set, and the extra eyes wouldn’t hurt either.

  93. Blackwater Red February 25, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Being hearing impaired do to using firearms with unprotected ears years ago, I could use these to prevent further loss..

  94. Cyka February 25, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    These are pretty much what I am looking for.

  95. benjamint February 25, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    Been wanting a set of these for a while!

  96. 702SHOOTERDOC February 25, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    I’ve tried these with my Barrett .50
    They are AMAZING!!!

  97. DavidB February 25, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    These are solid ear pro. I’m in for the draw.

  98. hijakk February 25, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    Getting some good ear pro would be a great thing – better than the cheap harbor freight ones I have!

  99. imtnt10 February 25, 2012 at 11:35 pm #

    Solid equipment for an avid shooter. Great review. Thanks.

  100. Jeepers February 25, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    i bet there better then my walmart earplugs

  101. happylittlepyro February 26, 2012 at 2:19 am #

    I would like to replace my maroon muffs with these.

  102. mudpuppy February 26, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    These are sweet. Make my Walmart muffs ashamed to be worn

  103. Firehawk February 26, 2012 at 3:33 am #

    I bought a cheap set electronic ears awhile back and learned two things ,
    Qaulity cost money
    Always keep foamies close by,
    I used a set of these that I borrowed and they were awesome!

  104. crappiekiller2 February 26, 2012 at 5:19 am #

    these are better than the ear plugs I currently use.

  105. SuperCaffinated February 26, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    Nice. I’m in!

  106. onehappycampster February 26, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    The cat’s meow for sure! They are amazing. One thing that we all dislike about going to the range with a friend is the constant on/off of our ears.

  107. dale s February 26, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    Thank You 702 shooter !

  108. Preston5280 February 26, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    These would definitely come in handy!

  109. russe11m February 26, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    I’ve been meaning to buy some of these for a while. Would be nice not to have to buy them.

  110. hiram357 February 26, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    Would be much nicer than my Peltors!

  111. tylermar February 26, 2012 at 7:30 am #

    Very cool earmuffs

  112. rolnthundr1 February 26, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    Very nice. Please count me in.

  113. sps tac February 26, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    Howard Leight makes a quality product. I’d like to own a set of those. Count me in. Thanks for all the great giveaways 702.

  114. mmwjade07 February 26, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    This looks impressive, I’d love a set

  115. shane_huskey February 26, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    These are great muffs. I have a set, but would my girlfriend keeps taking them from me when we shoot because her ears get cold. I’m no doubt picking up another pair, may it be from this contest or having to buy some more.

  116. nmateo February 26, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    Another great giveaway, want to get a god set so my wife will come shoot with me

  117. m4bangr February 26, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    Have one pair and would really like to have another. They work great.

  118. mvxx702 February 26, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    These are definitely the most popular ears I see at my IDPA club. My red Silencio muffs have served me well but it’s time for an upgrade.

  119. gheil February 26, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    I’d love a set.

  120. stargaze-hi February 26, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Wonderful technology! I’m in.

  121. needammo February 26, 2012 at 10:38 am #

    This hearing protection looks like it would be great for every shooter to invest in.

  122. DarkYodeler February 26, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Great set to come to the range with.

  123. GRAlexander1 February 26, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    Really nice set of hearing protection! Hope to be the lucky recipient.

  124. Sal50 February 26, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    I need some.

  125. mrturbo February 26, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    Looks like a nice upgrade for me!

  126. swsmailman February 26, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    A upgrade in hearing protection would be nice!

  127. addlemanb February 26, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    Would be great…count me in. Thanks!!!

  128. sgfan93 February 26, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    I really need to replace my little orange foam cylinders with some quality ears like these.

  129. firecop019 February 26, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Oh I’d love to have a pair of these for qualifications next year.

  130. rffreq February 26, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Great site . The information is good enough for me to move to Nevada!!!

  131. Match_book February 26, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    Count me in, they would make a nice upgrade to my non electronic h-leights.

  132. gregscott February 26, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    I could use a pair of these as my old XXXX are junk

  133. AndrewS February 26, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    Please add me!

  134. Whitboar February 27, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    A great product and worth buying by those of us who don’t win.

  135. FLdeepdiver February 27, 2012 at 6:02 am #

    I work a range everyday and have gone through two pairs of inexpensive ear pro in two months! Defintatly worth the investment in quality.

  136. GLShooter February 27, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    I wish I had a pair of these 30 yeasr ago when I got into shooting big time.

  137. aott February 27, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    I would probably still be able to hear if I had these!

  138. flynow February 27, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    I hope they are as good as they are hyped.

  139. PetCobra February 27, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    i really tired of earplug slipping out when i least expect it.

  140. andrew February 27, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    These would be a nice upgrade for me.

  141. blueninja February 27, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    I have always wanted a pair of these.

  142. mhersrud February 27, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    cool I could use them- put me down

  143. matt salveson February 28, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    These seem cool.. Great for the musician and the shooter..

  144. Sablewolf February 28, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    I always wanted to try electronic muffs but I’m still not sold on the benefits over non-electronic ones. Then again I usually stick to foam earplugs.

  145. jdgilbert February 29, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    Good to go, love my electronic ear-pro but the HL’s are very sweet.

  146. Phil V February 29, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    I would love these – thank you!

  147. ippeva February 29, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    very nice set!!

  148. Akrap February 29, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    This would sure replace those orange plugs i have.

  149. aquaticvisions March 1, 2012 at 4:18 am #

    I’m in.

  150. engi March 3, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    Been looking to pick up a pair of these. Maybe it will be my lucky day.

  151. brillen March 3, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    The reviews look great. Looks like very nice protection.

  152. erratikmind March 3, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    These are excellent. I currently have 2 pair.

  153. TacticalTom March 5, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    These look like a great replacement for foam plugs.

  154. clarkarchery March 5, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    really need these

  155. armed556 March 6, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    nice muffs

  156. SamNVegas March 7, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    these are great, I could use a second pair for my son so I don’t have to keep telling him to speak up when we are at the range!

  157. gdv March 7, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    sign me up. thanks

  158. dqpaet March 7, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    YAY! I have claimed the prize. Thanks :)

  159. captain March 7, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I need a new set of eyes and ears. Thanks!

  160. clarkarchery March 7, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    looks like a great product

  161. topcat1957 March 8, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    I need a pair of these. I use plugs now.

  162. Mikes_Z06_Vette March 8, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    I bought one but the wife took it away from me, now I need one :D these are some very good E.earmuffs, as I used these while shooting 30-06 (M1 Garand) .308 (Savage 10FP) 6.5CM rifles, .45ACP, .40 S&W and 9mm pistols and it all handled the noise well. I also used these for night hunting and at max volume, it actually enhanced my hearing which I find it very usual so my hunting buddy doesn’t have to talk very loud while hunting coyotes and I can hear him just fine.

  163. blakeblake March 12, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    Very cool

  164. Starlight1 March 13, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    What an opportunity! Definitely need to replace my first electronic muffs with these. PS they are over 7 years old. I really like the OD color…

  165. Chondro March 15, 2012 at 2:36 am #

    I’ve been looking for some hearing protection. Please sign me up


  166. beadlocked450r March 15, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    I would love to replace my old crappy muffs!

  167. dindale March 15, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    Sign me up!

  168. rljan March 18, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    These would be a big improvement over my cheap Harbor Freight muffs.

  169. Ne Kaan March 20, 2012 at 5:00 am #

    Always wanted a pair of these but have not been willing to put up the cash for them so far. I have never used electronic earmuffs before will be interesting to see how well they work in person.

  170. polyduece March 20, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    These look way nicer than my orange foam earplugs.

  171. woodzie March 21, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    These would definitely be nice! I would love to own!

  172. Travis-Echo90 March 21, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    Ugh I need to get a pair of these no matter what…. my hearing does not meet standards anymore…

  173. demory11 March 24, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    These Howard Leight Muffs would be just what I need. I have never had electronic muffs. What’s that you said!?

  174. snoopie March 25, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Nice couple of friends have these they work very well.

  175. krly March 29, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    Now if I could just get some decent EYES…..

  176. Tailspin March 29, 2012 at 7:54 pm #


    New to this website, I was surfing the web looking for some reviews on these headsets and found this site.

    I just bought a Browning Buckman for my sons 15Th birthday, how do these work with a 22LR.

  177. UPchuckit April 1, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    I would love to win a set of these ear protectors .They would be great for shooting,I could also use them in the wood shop (lots of noisy machines) And best of all I could use them
    (with the volume turned off) when my wife is nagging me !

  178. Ronin April 1, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    With age our hearing goes. It is good to hear a positive critique from a fellow range officer. It is important that we have good products that we can recommend to our fellow shooters. Besides shooting pistols, the slim design is good for shotgun/rifle shooting also.

  179. Mobius2386 April 3, 2012 at 12:34 am #

    Sign me up! I wouldn’t mind a set of these at all!

  180. DeezGsx April 3, 2012 at 10:31 am #

    To be able to shoot and not go deaf at the same time is awesome!

  181. cljohnso April 3, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    I’d love a new set of muffs

  182. jadda7480 April 5, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    I’m definitely in for these muffs

  183. rdf5186 April 5, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    These muffs are sweet . I’m in.

  184. dale s April 6, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    Amplified hearing and hearing protection ,i’d love to win these !

  185. cjanik April 6, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    I need those! I’m hearing impaired and those are big enough to cover my hearing aides and amplifies voices on top of that…win/win

  186. meleniumx April 7, 2012 at 8:21 am #

    need them.

  187. rodderslv April 11, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    Perfect addition to a proper set of equipment.

  188. HRMC April 11, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    I’m in

  189. MGraves April 11, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    This is a great prize. You need to protect your hearing as much as possible.

  190. etrubilla April 11, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    In like Flynn!

  191. Rodger April 11, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    These would sure be better than the cheapies that I plug into my ear and then throw away after using.

  192. yellowrider April 11, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Sorry I could not hear what you were saying over these earplug & earmuffs I currently wear. Count me in, would love to win these beauties.

  193. jadda7480 April 11, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    wasn’t sure if I needed a reply for next month’s drawing but here’s it is anyways

  194. Shadow. April 12, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    Well I got this message saying I won a pair of these, as I never win (almost never now), Thanks 702Shooter I went down and picked these up from Wild West Guns. and will be trying them this weekend.

  195. ColoJer April 12, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    Ready for a “big boy” set of earmuffs. Walmart ones aren’t cutting it anymore

  196. txfilmmaker April 12, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    I would love a pair. I could use them when I win the BCM rifle and 3 days of training in Vegas. ;-)

    • 702 April 12, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

      Good call. :)

  197. txfilmmaker April 12, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    These really are very good hearing protection for the money!

  198. lobster April 13, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    I would like to know what it is like not have to put plugs in and out of my ears

  199. steveo_justice April 13, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    want one

  200. mutantpoo April 13, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    As I’m already deaf in one ear these will be a God send and make me alot less nervous about going to the range.

  201. April 13, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    The more ear protection, the better- these look fantastic.

  202. Guard April 13, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Love me some muffs.

  203. tacoavian April 14, 2012 at 5:18 am #

    These are fine earmuffs. I purchased a pair a month ago for the range and have used them around table saws/miter saws/concrete nailers,etc. They work. Its takes a little getting used to ‘hearing’ all the ambient noise around you,but still your ears are being protected. Love to have a second pair so I don’t have to keep getting these out of the range bag for other uses.

  204. k.rollin April 14, 2012 at 5:36 am #

    I’ve always preferred plugs to muffs for shooting for the higher NRR value and because they didn’t interfere with my cheekweld. I tried my friend’s set though, and found that when adjusted just so, they only touch the top of my rifle stock, not breaking the seal around my ear. These are a set of muffs I’d be happy to recommend and use.

  205. tee1000 April 14, 2012 at 5:57 am #

    The super slim feature looks very appealing for shooting long guns. I Will be getting a pair.

  206. Mary Toleson April 14, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    You can never have to much ear protection. I love how slim it is and the two way radio plug so you can keep in touch with people when at an outdoor range and at different points like a you’re at a pistol and your husband is at a long range rifle one far away.

  207. spitts April 14, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    I can really use a new set. Maybe it will be my turn to win!

  208. Aether April 14, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    I would love some new ear pro, my old ones are getting ragged.

  209. werewolf13 April 14, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    very useful.

  210. savage April 14, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    After losing so much of my hearing while in the service I have to stay on top my losses even more now. If you still have all youre hearing and no CONSTANT ringing… I would suggest a set of these, I will be looking forward to a set of these in time. Savage

  211. Burnit April 14, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    My friends are always complaining about range-provided earpro. A set of these would definitely help me introduce more people to the sport :D

  212. curtismb April 15, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    nice. i could use some decent hearing protection

  213. cbob1911 April 15, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    this site is becoming one of my favorites. how do i subscribe?

    • 702 April 15, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

      You can’t post a comment without subscribing so you’re already good to go.

      Glad you like the site. :)

  214. pwhygle April 15, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    I would love these!! I really hope I win them

  215. ianto94 April 15, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    Ear protection is important

  216. NInjaXero April 16, 2012 at 2:36 am #


  217. hdfinder47 April 16, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    Electronic muffs are the only way to go on our range – much safer since everyone can easily hear range safety commands.

  218. 7.62WildBill April 16, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    These look very nice…I hope for the chance to try a pair.

  219. HeyGuysWatchThis April 16, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    These are great, I have a pair. I’d love to have another for when I take folks to the range, though :)

  220. quakeroats April 16, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    I’m a pretty new shooter, still gathering a lot of information, and I’ve had these earmuffs recommended to me so many times I’ve lost count. The video really showcases them well– how well they fold together, all that. Good stuff

  221. nerd April 17, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    I’ve never used a pair of electronic hearing protection, but have been wanting to. Price is a big factor, as it probably is with most people. From what people are stating here, this is a good one to get – pr win! :)

  222. Cajun Executioner April 17, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    I would love to win a pair of these. I was just telling my wife last weekend that I needed a pair!

  223. TimBeghtol April 17, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    I bought a pair of these for my wife, who has sensitive hearing. She loves them, calls them her “bionic ears”.

    Bought the last pair at Wild West Guns, hope they get some more in soon!

  224. scottk86 April 18, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    ear pro is key, i’d like to still hear when im old…

  225. jennifer57 April 18, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    would love to win a pair :)

  226. Mike L April 18, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    Thanks for the chance to get some new muffs. =)

  227. flynow April 18, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    A range pal allowed me to try his impact sports, comfortable, effective and well made.

  228. kitcarson April 18, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Ear protection is more important then most would think, I have an uncle who taught and raised me to shoot firearms. And unfortunately he is going deaf because he didn’t wear ear protection. These are a shooters “must have” !!

  229. Diablo April 19, 2012 at 4:12 am #

    Those look Sweet ! Will definitely work Better than my Cheapo $6.00 pair

  230. bulletinjection April 19, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    I am tired of people thinking my big bulky ones look funny and having tried these once I know they are not invasive while shooting my rifles. Great headset!

  231. ranco11 April 19, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    Like the looks of those.

  232. Hamsuplo April 19, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    Wow those are the exact pair I have been looking to get!

  233. arenal April 20, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Saving your hearing is always a good thing. Would definitely be a signifcant upgrade from my army ear plugs.

  234. tater334 April 20, 2012 at 5:42 am #

    I definitely could use these I’m getting tired of using cheap lil push in hearing protection.

  235. Just Dave April 20, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    My Dad has a pair of these and they work great! Very comfortable and you never need to remove them to hear someone speaking to you. I was going to buy a pair, but winning would be better. And the money I save could get more ammo!

  236. scubaprice April 20, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    Had a pair while I was on active duty for range days. Now that I’m no longer in I’d LOCE to have another set! Sadly I don’t make enought to purchase a set. Hopefully I might be able to win a set. They’d be really useful especially if I also won the Tac Carbine class with LAV.

  237. ewilmore88 April 21, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    I need some great ear protection. These look to be a great pair. It’d be awesome to get the last pair. Thanks for the giveaway 702.

  238. rpersun April 22, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    always wanted to try a pair of these, what better way then to win them. Thanks.

  239. bradman April 22, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    sound pretty good, would love to have

  240. rixx April 23, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    these are a signifigant upgrade to my orange foamies under generic earmuffs. the videos help visualize their size. great job.

  241. Corsair April 23, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    I have a pair of Remington electronic ear-muffs that are probably 15 year old.
    I can’t wait to try out a pair of these Howard Leight earmuffs, which I am sure will put my old Remington’s to shame.

  242. spencelee April 24, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    I want!!! count me in!!!

  243. fowlmouth April 25, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    I;ll try them out

  244. doull76 April 25, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    Know several shooters who use these. Would love a pair to try out.

  245. Bigmac98 April 25, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    These look like awesome ear protection. I have been shopping around for new protection and I think I have found what I am looking for. Hopefully I will win and I will only have to buy one pair for my wife.

  246. cbob1911 April 25, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

    i’m looking for a set of ear protection at them moment. leaning towards plugs but this might fit the bill too

  247. jonbeile April 26, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    I’ve been using my chainsaw head set.

  248. lindleyj58 April 27, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I have been using a pair of winchester ear muffs i got from walmart….they do the job but i have been looking at getting a pair of high speed electronic ones like this for a while…its on my wish list so if i could get hooked up that would be great

  249. rdzone1 April 27, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Can’t beat electronic muffs I use them while teaching bear/firearms safety for field help.

  250. Rodger April 29, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    I sure need a new pair. Mine have come apart in the ear piece.

  251. marshall8045 May 1, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    definitely need a new pair of ear muffs. as much shooting as i did in the marine corps and still do now i could really use some good ones.

  252. mac2515 May 2, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    Best ear protection for the money. Free is Great!

  253. analogmonster May 3, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    what’s a chainsaw headset?

  254. sven79 May 3, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    I have been wanting to get some electronic ear protection; these definitely look like they’d do the job for me

  255. AL IN STL May 3, 2012 at 2:13 pm #


  256. nathan.bumgarner88 May 4, 2012 at 3:28 am #

    Wow. These are pretty bad ass. I should talk my company into buying these. We drill wells and our equipment requires us to wear hearing protection. Does anybody know if hooking up an ipod kills the battery quicker? Again thank you to the site and sponsor for another awsome giveaway and God bless America.

  257. KEEPER OF STEEL May 4, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    I have used a number of electronic hearing protection and haven’t noticed much difference between brands. Yet haven’t tried these. An add to my list of range gear..

  258. Lanster May 4, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    These would be great for the concealed carry class that I’m wanting to take. I still have the old style.
    Thank you for the chance to win them.

  259. Captain Willie May 5, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    I was just looking at several different types of ear protection. I use the rubber foam ones and wanted a pair of earmuffs. The pair I have now are okay but usually my daughter ears them when we go. These would be just fantastic. What a great and thoughtful prize.