Archangel Nomad Stock A.K.A. Marauder for the Ruger 10/22

When I was 16 years old, I obtained a Ruger 10/22 rifle from a co-worker.  The rifle was stock so right away my dad and I hit up a gun show looking for the “cool” stuff to transform the rifle into something that a typical teenage boy would consider neat.  Although not as many options as you can find these days, there was still a lot to choose from.  I put on a folding stock, flash hider, extended mag release, and a cheap optic.  That configuration has worked perfectly fine for me so I’ve never bothered to change it up.  That being said, when I saw a local gun store advertising that they had Archangel 10/22 stocks available, I decided to check them out.

From their website, they looked decent.  Especially for the same demographic I was when I got my 10/22.  Their prices are a little higher than a number of the other 10/22 stock options so I figured they should be good quality.   Since most of the articles I post here are aimed for the “big kids”, I thought it would be nice to change my rifle and post about some mods that may be useful upgrades for your kid’s Ruger 10/22 rifles.  I decided on the Archangel Nomad Stock also known as the Marauder.  The Archangel Nomad Stock is designed to look like the HK G36 which has been used in a number of video games so it appeals to a lot of younger people.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words.

Archangel Nomad Stock for Ruger 10/22

Even though that pic pretty much sums it up, I think a little more explanation is due.

First off, the instructions that came with the stock were a complete joke.  As a 16 year old teenager, I had zero problems tearing apart my 10/22 and making the upgrades.  On the other hand, I had to go to YouTube to figure out how this POS is supposed to be installed.  The video I watched was pretty short and showed things well.  However, my experience with the install didn’t go quite as easily.  For some reason, the company didn’t include room for your stock sights so they needed to be removed with a brass punch or some other method which hopefully will not screw up the sights or barrel should you wish to revert back to the original configuration.  Even after the sights were removed, the action still did not fit into the stock.  After 30 minutes with a Dremel tool and a little encouragement from a rubber mallet, the pieces all finally came together.

Archangel Nomad Stock for Ruger 10/22 Archangel Nomad Stock for Ruger 10/22

The 25 round magazine that comes with this perfectly good waste of money doesn’t work so well itself.  To get it to actually stay in the magwell took almost as much effort as putting the package together.  Once at the range, it jammed on me every 1 to 2 rounds.  About 2/3 of the way through the mag, it fell out of the gun.  I literally tossed the rifle to the side and moved on to checking out the Slide Fire Solutions AK-47 stock  and a couple other items I will be posting reviews on shortly.

Obviously at this point I was unhappy with the Archangel Nomad and had zero intentions of keeping it.  That brings us to the disassemble stage.  Tools required?  Brass punch, hex wrench, screw driver, crowbar, jaws of life, and a BFH.  After using the brass punch to tap the fake suppressor off the barrel, I removed all the screws.  At this point I was expecting the thing to pull apart but that didn’t happen.  After dicking around with it for far too long, I grabbed the BFH and beat it to death.  I had to break the thing into multiple pieces to get it off the gun.  I then promptly placed the remains in an appropriate container (pictured above) for burial.

3 things come to mind when I think about this product.

  1. Maybe my 10/22 is a very old version which does not properly fit the new stock?
  2. Perhaps I got a deformed stock?
  3. The stock is simply garbage.

While I was fairly convinced that the truth lies within #3, I was still willing to consider the other explanations.  That is until I received another product from Archangel which proved to have very similar issues and equally as bad instructions.  The unknown extra parts didn’t help much either.

If you’re looking to upgrade or “trick out” your Ruger 10/22, do yourself a favor and steer clear of Archangel 10/22 stocks.  Instead, take a look at Tactical Innovations or R&S Precision.  Yeah, I know they sell Archangel stuff too but hey, nobody is perfect.  ;)

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove © 2012

, , , , , , , , ,

23 Responses to Archangel Nomad Stock A.K.A. Marauder for the Ruger 10/22

  1. Jtapia March 27, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Great write up. I swear sometimes I think I am the only guy who finds lemons. I so often read reviews that sing the prasises of this or that, only to find my “version” of their little slice of heaven is actually a turd in a tortilla. I have not used the archangel product line but I am going to heed your warning and stay clear. THANKS.

  2. dehakal March 27, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    Have not tried their 10/22 stocks but I have the Archangel M1A Precision Stock and it is quite functional. Took a bit of sanding to fit the trigger assembly as there can be quite a bit of variation between different M1A or M-14 models. The adjustable LOP and Cheek Riser really fit my rifle to my stature rather than me trying to fit my 6’2″ with gorilla arms to a mil standard wooden stock. I have noticed that with the Archangel stock my unsupported groups tightened up by around 50%.

  3. teRRy March 28, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    Thanks for the review. I had looked at this stock awhile back, but went with the ATI. Glad I did.

  4. Match_book March 28, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    Great to see an unbiased and honest review that isn’t merely singing the praises of some ‘new and innovative’ product.

  5. gmochizuki March 28, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    i looked at the archangel kit, did not like the plastic feel and lack of upgrades later.
    the other “plastic” kits did not look all that great.
    went with nordic components kit. all metal construction.
    and if you are or know an ar builder get the basic 3 piece kit and use standard ar hand guard, hand grip, and any ar stock.

    the two negatives are mine eats lead (sending lead down range) which comes to my name for this gun “lead eater”

    the other kit i am looking is rhineland arms and using the charger22 receiver with it.
    i might just take my time a piece this rifle together. i the plastic trigger guard from the lead eater and i think i have a spare barrel laying around someplace.

    • 702 March 28, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      Thanks or the tip in the Nordic AR type setup. I’ll have to look into that a bit more. It looks a lot like the Troy option and with a similar price point.

      • gmochizuki April 25, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

        i saw the troy option very much like the nordic and ruger sr22.
        have you seen the rhineland arms stuff. also cool looking.
        i would like to try the tactical innovation ch22 receiver,
        but can’t get one here in the republic of california
        per the manufacturers instructions, not any laws.

  6. gmochizuki March 28, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

    i forgot add the second negative, cleaning. so use something like gunzilla and lots of air.

  7. pleary454 March 28, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    I was there with 702 and assisted with the test. To be honest I was horrified when the magazine dropped out of the rifle. The magazine did not fit properly and would not stay locked in the rifle. As 702 explained above, there were problems galore. It was so bad that the test was stopped right after the magazine fell out unassisted (with no human intervention)!!
    It was a disappointment because the idea was cool but the product did not work. 702 did not make any of this up as I witnessed the test. The product did not match the hype.

  8. ginnz March 31, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Hmmm. I find the review way out to lunch. I bought the ArchAngel Marauder, and its awesome. Works absolutely great for me, and turned one of my 10/22’s into a very fun gun! My son loves it as well! And i have almost no issues with the 2cnd Gen. 25 round magazine…. I found that Blazer ammo didnt function worth a damn with it, but cheap Federal hollow point (in the 525 rnd bulk pack) functions 100% with it! I can go through mag after mag without a FTF/FTE. Once it gets very dirty, say after 500 or so rounds i get the odd stovepipe. I dunno, I have no regrets with buying this stock…..

    • 702 March 31, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

      You found this review from a Google search of the following: “remove 10/22 marauder”. If you like it so much, why are you searching Google for instructions on how to disassemble it?

      • anrgytroll September 20, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

        I installed The archangel nomad on my 1 year old 10-22 and it’s works perfectly. I skimmed thru instructions briefly no need for videos went together in like 20 minutes. Hardest part was removing front sight. All parts went together easy clean seams. Rifle shoot great no issue with mag that came with it or using double stacked stock mags ,hot lips ten round or ruger extended. Pretty good with sights that came with rifle also installed cheap barsca red dot and shoots well ith those too. On a side note I found this review searching for how to attach sling to the nomad stock.

  9. Codie May 8, 2012 at 7:11 am #

    I’ve been in the market for a stock for my 10/22, I like the Tapco Interfuse Tactical Trainer more that the rest of the stocks out there. Great web site, very informative!

  10. voodooman June 16, 2014 at 10:18 pm #

    Nice write up I had the same problem with this stock first way over priced
    but it looked cool so I bought it switched the mag release and slide lock
    first it didn’t fit I had the older Rugers so no front site its a threaded barrel from
    Tactical Innovations so I can put a real suppressor on anyway I used a dremel
    to make it fit finally fit it dropped in I even painted it camo painting the fake semi and full auto mode white and red it did look good so I didn’t like the idea I Couldn’t put my green laser on the bottom because it hit the end of the rail which you cant take off so I loaded
    25 rounds in the magazine and started shooting first shot jammed second jammed bent the bullet than it shot the third and forth than jammed so I took it apart dropped the mag out
    I did like the gun but I tried 4 times to make it work and I gave up I just got ripped of so I put everything back in my older tasco m16 copy everything fits without grinding on it I see these guys on you tube shooting the nomad with no problems I just don’t get it thing is what am I going to do with the nomad cant sell it on ebay I just not like that

  11. voodooman June 16, 2014 at 10:20 pm #

    I do like the Troy Industries T22 Ruger 10/22 looks cool

  12. Adam September 9, 2014 at 12:02 pm #

    Such a refreshing review. I’m over in England and Ruger 10/22 are very popular here. We cant get the Arch Angel stocks so when I saw one on ebay from someone who had privately imported one I went all out to bid for it. What a mistake.. The detail in fitting it , espeically the oversized mag release, led me to take it to a local gun smith. Having been charged more than I expected for the work I soon found out the amount of problems he had in getting it to fit.
    Undeterd I entered my first competition with it at the National Shooting Centre at Bisley England. Imaging my embarrassment when the magazine just dropped out on the floor. Its hopeless so I reverted to the BX 25 which works fine. The rest of the stock is OK but the fake selector and safety switch serve no purpose other than pose value which makes it a bit kiddy.
    For teh money I reckon a Hogue over mold stock wooudl be a far better balance of everyday plinker and competition furniture for teh 10/22.

  13. Mike Smith October 13, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

    Nice review and I laughed until my side hurt, I bought a kit for my M1A, and ended up in the garbage can just like yours, however I did think a lot about it while in bed that night. So I went out side with my flashlight and dug it out of the garbage and put it back together to look not to ragged and decided if it shot I could clean it up an do a camo job on it. (who would know?) Took it to the range for a very short comparison with my stock that came with the M1A Scout. The Arch Angel shot groups at 50 yrds. one half the size of the stock that it came with. Can’t wait to get back out at 100-200 yrds. and see what happens. I know this is an old post, but your article really feel like “hey your not the only one” and I am 61 yrs. old.

    • 702Shooter October 13, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

      LOL, obviously you didn’t have to break it off your M1A before throwing it away. ;)

      Thanks for the comment Mike. Keep on shootin…..

  14. Mike December 10, 2014 at 4:58 am #

    Man, am I glad I read this before buying this piece of junk. Was ruining your 10/22 and throwing $160 in the trash the only recourse? Doesn’t the manufacturer provide some sort of warranty?

    Here’s a few quotes from their product page:

    “Easily installed on your Ruger 10/22”
    “features a drop-in fit”
    “requires no gunsmithing”
    “will ensure a lifetime of hard use.”

    • 702Shooter December 10, 2014 at 8:22 am #

      Considering the company sent me the stock for free, I’m not out the $160. After getting a second stock that also had fitting issues, I have no further interest in any products from this company. In fact, just a couple weeks ago somebody offered me one of their (pro-mag) high capacity (RUG-A14) 10/22 magazines and I turned it down.

  15. Larry Welsh January 17, 2015 at 9:54 am #

    I purchased my Archangel Nomad stock just after christmas 2014. I did have an issue with the magazine but was sent a new upgraded version with metal feed lips. The stock itself was easy to assemble and fit nice and snug with no gaps. Customer service was great and a very fast turn around on my clip issue. I know the clip has been upgraded so maybe the stock has been upgraded also to fit better from 2012 ?? Just my experience building a plinker gun.

  16. ken March 17, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

    I have had no problems with my stock except the mag it wont stay in other than that im pretty happy with it

    • 702Shooter March 31, 2015 at 8:17 am #

      How can you possibly be happy with a stock that won’t retain a magazine? No mag = no working rifle = worthless.

Submit a Review/Comment