TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle

Although I’m not left handed, I’ve been practicing shooting with my non-dominate hand for a few years now.  Many military units, security forces, and S.W.A.T. teams have been doing the same for God knows how long.  In order to appease the lefties as well as those who train to shoot with either hand, a few companies have rolled out ambidextrous charging handles for the AR platform.  Most of these products do a decent job but until now, none of them had been built specifically for ambi use.  Instead, they are all modifications of existing products.  Each of these modified charging handles have added springs, pins, or extended handle extensions.   Some of them have even drilled and/or cut the original charging handle to install their new parts.  All of this creates weak points in the products.  The TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle from Mech Armor Defense Systems, Inc. has none of this.

TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review
TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review

CNC machined from a solid piece of 7075 T-6 aluminum, the TacOps-1 ambidextrous charging handle offers an extended grip on both the right and left sides.  This allows for clearance around most optics.  However, it does not extend so far as to cause problems with your other gear.  While all competing products utilize multiple pins and extra pieces, Mech Defense opted for the K.I.S.S. strategy.  The design uses only 5 parts including a single latch which extends to the rear of the charging handle then bends to provide a point for your right thumb to depress it.  This causes the latch to rotate on the single roll pin and release without the need for extra parts.

The 7 pound spring ensures positive engagement of the latch which is overkill in most cases.  However, the standard charging handle designs do not take into account the added pressure from suppressors and such which can cause weaker springs to unlatch and send the handle back at your face.  Inserted and capping off the spring is a brass pin which keeps debris from getting into and around the spring itself.  The latch pushes against the self lubricating brass pin allowing for easier operation along with less wear and tear over time.
TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review

TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review

I’ve been using The Tac Latch but have had some problems with the handle being too long and hanging up on my sling while maneuvering.  I can also see how The Tac Latch could easily bend or break if my rifle were to be dropped or knocked over.  The TacOps-1 is much more robust and can clearly take a lot more of a beating than any of the other  charging handles I’ve used.  It’s considerably more comfortable to use than my Mod 4 BCM Gunfighter and easy to use with or without gloves.

TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle Review

Mech Armor has provided their TacOps-1 to a number of police, military, and firearms companies for testing and evaluation.  From everything I have read, it has passed all test thrown at it with flying colors and the company stands behind the product with a lifetime warranty.

No matter if you’re right or left handed, the TacOps-1 is a great charging handle.  At this point, this is the only rear charging handle I will be using.

A special thank you to Jason, from Guns & Ammo Garage, who helped out with the video portion of this review.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove © 2012

, , , , , , , , ,

160 Responses to TacOps-1 Ambidextrous Charging Handle

  1. addlemanb March 15, 2012 at 2:33 am #

    Left eye dominant shooter…would like to give it a shot. Thanks.

  2. joshuat March 15, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    Looks interesting. I like the size of it.

  3. arichmond March 15, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    I like it.

  4. Match_book March 15, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    I should work on my ambi skills, count me in for the drawing.

  5. dindale March 15, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Would like to try it out….

  6. cal March 15, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Right handed, but left eye dominant. Would love to try it.

  7. aquaticvisions March 15, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    I’m in.

  8. Metalchemist March 15, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    Semper Paratus.
    It’s good to be prepared.

  9. radrobbeatty March 15, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Always nice to have options. Neat product.

  10. mbogo March 15, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    As a left-handed shooter, this would come in handy.

  11. SquirrelAssassin March 15, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Looks like a useful addition.

  12. mudpuppy March 15, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Very Handy for my Carpal tunnel surgery

  13. gmochizuki March 15, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    i switch occasionally and this would be great.

  14. Rustpot March 15, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    It looks a bit odd, but I’d be interested in trying one out. As a lefty shooter I usually put my index on the latch side, thumb on the other and charge the gun overhand. Works well enough at the range, but leaves something to be desired.

  15. DynamoVegas March 15, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    I am another right hander that shoots with my left. Started in the corps and I have switched off since.

  16. Subdriver March 15, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    This should help left eye dominant shooters make shooting lefty more manageable (just watch out for the brass)!

  17. signwinder March 15, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Interesting… but I’ll stick with my rt handed M4. I’m to old to change.

  18. blakeblake March 15, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    Awesome. Gotta get one for my father

  19. erratikmind March 15, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Interesting . . . Worth a try.

  20. TomcatTCH March 15, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    I’m not sure how the rear of the latch works when under an optic.

    • 702 March 15, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

      Your thumb comes in from the side, not over the top. The advantage for the optic is the wider handle, not the thumb button.

  21. ncffp163 March 15, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    I’m left eye dominant also…this would be a huge help!

  22. Mobius2386 March 15, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    This would be a great add-on to my AR setup!

  23. Mikes_Z06_Vette March 15, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    Gotta cover all basis! I’m in for the lefty!!!

  24. perna March 15, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    I would like to try one out.

  25. recall March 15, 2012 at 10:53 pm #

    Count me in.

  26. seniorhigh04 March 16, 2012 at 4:26 am #

    I can safely say that I will probably purchase this.

  27. gdv March 16, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    i’ll give it a shot. add me to the list

  28. Jtapia March 16, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Looks like a great set up. Having a 3×9 scope on my AR (for predator hunting) the Tac Latch looks like it has ample clearance for the optic. Sign me up.

  29. DavidB March 16, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    I remember when I first heard about the BCM Gunfighter. I was skeptical but eventually bought the midsize one.
    It took me a few days and I still wasn’t sure. Then I picked up an AR with a conventional charging handle and in that moment I was convinced. The BCM Gunfighter almost made the AR like a different gun when charging – smoother, easier one handed charging.

    Sounds like this could yield a similar improvement – maybe even better!

  30. CaustusPium March 16, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    Solid looking product, would like to give it a try. Thanks for the review and chance at winning one.

  31. Starlight1 March 17, 2012 at 5:45 am #

    As A Lefty, This appears like the solution to a real problem for me. Count me in!!!

  32. ar March 18, 2012 at 3:33 am #

    This looks like a great product for my AR. Thanks for the information and for the giveaway opportunity!

  33. rolnthundr1 March 18, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    Count me in!

  34. agent000x March 18, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Looks interesting and I like it.

  35. clarkarchery March 18, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    as a left eye dom. shooter this would be great

  36. Ne Kaan March 20, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    I am left eye dominate but right handed so I usually practice with both sides. I am interested to how much this helps.

  37. woodzie March 21, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    I like to practice shooting with both hands and both eyes from time-to-time. This would be fun!

  38. Henry March 21, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    I am left eye dominant and shoot AR’s left. This is a great concept and I would love to give it a try!

  39. SamNVegas March 21, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    My AR is having custom work done at Wild West Guns right now. I may have to consider adding this!

  40. Travis-Echo90 March 21, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    anything to make a rifle more comfortable to the shooter!

  41. Whitboar March 22, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    This sounds like a lot of good design philosophy went into it.

  42. matt salveson March 23, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    This is a great idea!

  43. swedge58 March 23, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Love the looks. Would look great on my LMT!!!!!!

  44. demory11 March 24, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    They put safety first which I like. This should be a good seller and a very good add-on for anyone’s AR.

  45. snoopie March 25, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Man love the left handed feature count me in!

  46. buddy March 26, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    Sign me up… always run my ar’s ambi

  47. apenkauski March 27, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    I’ll have to give it a try

  48. needammo March 27, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Very cool. I enjoy reading about these new products.

  49. pistolpete6994 March 28, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    About time someone did it right.

  50. gmochizuki March 28, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    sign me up for one.

  51. B1Lancer March 30, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    Amazing. Would love to try it out.

  52. jetspeed8 March 30, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    I would really like one of these!

  53. triggatronic March 30, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Count me in.

  54. wearetheonly2 March 31, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    Sign me up!

  55. lobster March 31, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    I like the Tac Latch, it would help clear the scope when charging the weapon

  56. jadda7480 April 1, 2012 at 1:27 am #

    I should learn to shoot left handed

  57. bigmyk2k April 1, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    What a great idea, about time.

  58. Ronin April 1, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    An idea whose time has come… Nice job!

  59. Theron_Tatum April 1, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    def. interested great idea!

  60. DeezGsx April 3, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    I’d like to try it out.

  61. clarkarchery April 4, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    looks like a great product

  62. g0tblu April 4, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

    I’m fairly fond of my BCM Mod4 but this looks interesting

  63. SamNVegas April 5, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    Would make an amazing addition to my custom build lefty being worked on at WILD WEST GUNS right now!

  64. FLdeepdiver April 5, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    Could be a useful product for lefty’s…

  65. Snakeyes April 5, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    Wrap it up…I’ll take it.

  66. rdf5186 April 5, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Sooo very cool. Would look great on my boomstick

  67. cjanik April 6, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    Would come in handy!

  68. meleniumx April 7, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    could use one.

  69. dibrwi7 April 9, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    would like to try ambi

  70. rdf5186 April 9, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    Very cool

  71. whitewolfcustoms April 10, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    this would go good on my AR Build

  72. charlienothing April 10, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    very nice!

  73. DukeCommanche April 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    Nice! Would be great addition to my first AR!

  74. SamNVegas April 11, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Just re read the article. Great info!

  75. trevor3433 April 11, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    Interesting charging handle. I like the simplicity.

  76. HRMC April 11, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    I need a new charging handle. This looks like it would be much easier to grab.

  77. MGraves April 11, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    This would be a great addition to a weapon.

  78. bblatt11 April 11, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    As a lefty, I look forward to rounding out my ambi-build with this.

  79. etrubilla April 11, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    In like Flynn!

  80. CroftonBilly April 12, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    I’m in. Thanks!

  81. oldschoolshooter April 12, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Now this could be a handy piece of gear to have. Sign me up for the drawing please.

  82. ColoJer April 12, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    Dig that it’s beefy. Doesn’t look like it will bust if you look at it wrong

  83. aquaticvisions April 12, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    I use an ambidextrous latch on my competition rifle. It makes it a lot easier to lock the bolt back and show clear after each stage.

  84. KillerMedic April 12, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Would be a nice mod for my wrong-handed friend…lol!

  85. mt April 13, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    very cool design. just built an AR. i could really use this.

  86. mutantpoo April 13, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Just what the doctored ordered ! And he should know, he’s left handed too.

  87. tsconver April 13, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Count me in

  88. ptgarcia April 13, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Being left handed I can certainly use one of these!

  89. nahixson143 April 13, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    Awesome! I’m in!

  90. swl April 13, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    This looks like a really nice upgrade from my plain vanilla charging handle. I’d love to have one!

  91. l33t5p34k April 13, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    This would get out of the way of my optics and make charging easier.

  92. jameseguerin@hotmail.com April 13, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    Awsome upgrade! I’d love to have one

  93. cmegv73 April 13, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Seems pretty cool…

  94. k.rollin April 14, 2012 at 5:28 am #

    Not as cool looking as the Rainier Arms/AXTS Raptor, but definitely stronger, and I’m all about function over form. I’d really like to put this charging handle through its paces.

  95. glocktogo April 14, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    Looks like a well thought out product. I’ve been looking for a sturdy ambi CH and this might fit the bill!

  96. Mary Toleson April 14, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    It looks like it is built like a tank and being left handed and clumsy it seems like a perfect solution for me.

  97. zspitfire04 April 14, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    I remember seeing this before it came out and was up in the air on whether or not I would find it handy. Thanks guys for the video, it helped me decide that I would be able to put this on my build and not feel like I wasted some money. Looks a lot stronger than I was expecting it to be, I will have no problem taking one down range with me on my current build.

    – Zach

  98. redhat4201 April 14, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    I would love to have this

  99. smwann April 14, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Im in

    • 702 April 14, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      No you’re not.
      You might want to read the giveaway rules as suggested.

  100. exhipit2131 April 14, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    s w e e e e e t

  101. Sinister April 14, 2012 at 9:57 pm #


  102. savage April 14, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    Southpaw shooter here, looks like a man could definatly charge his weapon!! Savage

  103. Burnit April 14, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    Definitely looks like a sturdy design I’d be willing to try out!

  104. turbinedave April 15, 2012 at 3:30 am #

    Another fine product to add to my AR build box- as I slowly aquire the parts to build anM-4 this would be one I need not purchase. Thanks

  105. cbob1911 April 15, 2012 at 7:14 am #

    great video, very nice charging handle design!

  106. trbrincefield April 15, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    Looks good, I’m not a lefty shooter, but that is my dominant hand.

  107. Chromium4500 April 15, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    This is a great new design for a charging handle. I’d be very interested to give it a try.

  108. 702 April 15, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    The first person the software selected as our winner did not post a proper qualifying comment.

    The next winner drawn posted a qualifying comment but also unsubscribed from our updates.

    There is a reason I tell you to follow the giveaway rules and post a link to them on every giveaway we do. If you don’t follow the rules, you will not win.

    The 3rd name drawn is good to go and has been emailed to claim the prize.

  109. depgary25 April 15, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    Great product for us lefties.

  110. curtismb April 15, 2012 at 2:35 pm #


  111. mutantpoo April 15, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    How can Iverify I’m subscribed to everything correctly / hate to think I was one of the first two drawn.

    • 702 April 15, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

      At the time you subscribe, you are subscribed to everything correctly. It’s the people who make the decision to change their subscription options that then opt out. Also, those who do not read the rules, like the guy who commented above you, are also not going to win.

      You’re good to go on all accounts. Unfortunately, your name was not selected.

      • mutantpoo April 15, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

        Okay, thanks

  112. jdaigle33 April 15, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Hope Im not too late to enter the drawing. I would love to try this out.

  113. pwhygle April 15, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    I hope I win this!

  114. NInjaXero April 16, 2012 at 2:36 am #


  115. oldschoolshooter April 16, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET! Thank you Mech Armor and 702shooter for doing this. I FINALLY WON SOMETHING!!!

    This should work well on that new BCM AR15 I will be winning next.

  116. Vasque16 April 16, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    Looks like something this lefty could use

  117. harleyav8r April 16, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    I’m a righty , but any improvement on my AR that is free is worth the time to make this comment.

  118. nerd April 17, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Very interesting. It amazes me that people keep coming up with great stuff for the AR platform!

  119. SCJeffro April 17, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    count me in, I am building another AR shortly :)

  120. flynow April 18, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    Looks like a easy and quick grab.

  121. Diablo April 19, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    Perfect addition for my AR Build !

  122. Bladezilla April 19, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    Perfect solution to my scope being just a tad in the way.:^)

  123. voodoodon April 19, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    Just what us southpaws needed Hope I win this one :)

  124. tommy777 April 19, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    being a army vet, i can see where this would be so useful, in my last unit we had a bunch of lefties and the had the problem with it being awkward to charge their weapon, but with this lefties would not have to hold their weapons at an odd angle or use their right hand to charge their m-16, this inventor just made a lot of people happy.

  125. shooterdude April 19, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    That is awesome. Looks like a great design and would be very helpful for practicing southpaw.

  126. ranco11 April 19, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    Looks like a simple but novel solution.

  127. Dravenm4 April 19, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Thats a pretty nice design I like it…

  128. JeepsNBullets April 21, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    I think that this is great idea and when I build an AR for my girlfriend she will appreciate that everything will be ambi

  129. rpersun April 22, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    Nice design, hope I win so I can try it out. Thanks.

  130. bradman April 22, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    very creative, I’ve never seen one of these before

  131. fowlmouth April 25, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    I’ll try it out

  132. jonbeile April 26, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Had a lot of trouble in the Army when someone stole my M-16 left hand shooter ejection guard.

  133. nmateo April 29, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    Looking for my first AR build, this looks like a great!

  134. T.N.Spade May 1, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Being a Small Arms & Artillery Repair SGT in the Army I have seen all kinds of charging handles but none like this one!

  135. marshall8045 May 1, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    i would definitely like to try this out. seems like an awesome concept.

  136. turnure33 May 1, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    I would love this on my rifle. Never know what can happen, options are great.

  137. Bryce_G May 1, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    I currently use a BCM Gunfighter on my AR And I love the unit however when/if a malfunction is encountered when firing offhand it is not the most friendly piece to have to get a hold of. The TacOps-1 Looks very ergonomic and easy to manipulate in all firing positions.

  138. mac2515 May 2, 2012 at 5:58 am #

    This would be a great addition to my next build.

  139. AL IN STL May 3, 2012 at 2:09 pm #


  140. KEEPER OF STEEL May 4, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    Always up for diferent gear to test out.

  141. Boeydafunk May 10, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    Based upon your review and that I shoot rifles lefthanded, I went ahead and picked one of these up. I have yet to fire a live round with it on, but have done some dryfire practice and its awesome. I just wanted to let you know that your review did not fall on def ears, and I glad that you turned me onto this product!

    • 702 May 10, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

      Glad to hear it. Thanks for the feedback. :)

  142. pavaloni May 10, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Cant wait to win it!

  143. Casull May 17, 2012 at 1:06 am #

    As a southpaw I’ve come to have to cope with the standard stuff over the years. I got a BCM Mod.4 and it does help quite a bit. I did come up with a couple creative ways to overcome the fact it is of course a right-handed latch. This particular product looks great as it not only provides ambidextrous capabilities but also extends further out. The is great for lefties as it is the forward assist can often get in the way of charging left-handed style. Thanks for the write-up, great video!!

  144. a1tac May 25, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    This is awesome

    Thanks for this giveaway!

    This is a awesome prize….. that would really help out a disabled veteran!


    • 702 May 25, 2012 at 7:19 am #

      It’s also a prize that has already been given away. Not to mention that you have posted the same comment on 5 different giveaways, 3 of which have been over for months.

  145. AEMitchell June 7, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    I had to shoot using my weak hand during my two day Urban rifle class. I found it very difficult to operate the charging handle and I caused a chambering malfunction when my forward hand got in the way of the dust cover opening to allow for the spent cartridge to eject. That was an impressive learning lesson. Keep your hands exactly where they belong!

  146. Lumpygravy June 27, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    Looks very interesting. Would love to give one a shot!

  147. Malamute August 29, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    I was going to purchase the BCM charging handle and decided on this one after seeing it here. I am extremely happy with it. More importantly I was impressed with Van from MADS. He called when I placed the order and called me again to make sure I was happy after I received the charging handle. I have purchased a lot of parts for my AR, but only Van bothered to follow up on my purchase. I highly recomend them.

  148. uswajk September 6, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    This would be a great addition to anyone’s AR!

  149. medic265 September 27, 2012 at 6:18 am #

    I am currently building an AR and have looked at many different handles. I appreciate your review and if I don’t win one, I might just buy one!!

  150. frankmtnman September 27, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    I’ll take one it will fit nicely on my stag arms upper

  151. cbob1911 October 13, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    looks good.

  152. jabarton77 October 19, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Just finishing up an AR build. This would make a nice replacement for the cheap charging handle my kit came with

  153. JSC76 December 15, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    This a very interesting take on the ambi charging handle. I’ve been eyeballing a raptor, but I may have to keep an open mind to this one.

  154. bigrigdriver December 26, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Gimme gimme gimme…..lol!

Submit a Review/Comment